Mina the Hollower Specs: PC Requirements & Performance

admin

I publish daily new articles!

Header graphic for the Mina the Hollower system requirements and performance guide by Game Launch Hub, featuring platform icons for PC, Android, and iOS on an orange left panel, alongside the official Mina the Hollower key art depicting Mina in a red cloak holding a whip.

Written by Chen Xi, PC & Console Requirements Specialist at Game Launch Hub

Mina the Hollower System Requirements: PC Specs, Switch 2, PS5, Xbox Series X|S & Steam Deck Performance Guide

Mina the Hollower is Yacht Club Games’ long-awaited follow-up to Shovel Knight, and it arrived on 29 May 2026 after six years of development. It is an 8-bit action-adventure inspired by Game Boy Color aesthetics and classic top-down Zelda, with a whip-wielding mouse protagonist who burrows underground to dodge attacks and reach hidden areas. Performance-wise, this is an exceptionally lightweight title on PC, and it runs at 60 fps on every platform with 120 fps modes on Switch 2, PS5, and PC. The official specifications are on the Mina the Hollower Steam page, and I have cross-checked them against the official Steam Support page, the GOG listing, and RPG Site’s cross-platform performance analysis.

System Requirements

Minimum (Windows)

ComponentRequirement
OSWindows 8 or later (Steam client requires Windows 10 or newer as of 1 January 2024)
ProcessorIntel Core 4th generation (Haswell, 2013) / AMD Bulldozer (2011)
Memory (RAM)4 GB
GraphicsIntel HD 5000 (2013) / Radeon HD 7000 (2012) / Nvidia 900 Series (Maxwell, 2014)
VRAMNot listed separately. The listed GPUs are integrated or entry-level dedicated cards with shared or small dedicated memory. No dedicated VRAM figure is published.
DirectXVersion 12
Storage860 MB available space
Additional NotesRequires a 64-bit processor and operating system. Single-player only. Steam Cloud supported.

Source: Mina the Hollower Steam page and the official Steam Support page. Last verified: 3 October 2026.

What this means in practice: The minimum tier targets 1080p at 60 fps on the game’s default settings. The Intel HD 5000 is integrated graphics from 2013, and the Nvidia 900 Series entry covers Maxwell cards like the GTX 950 from 2015. This is hardware from the Windows 7 era, and the game is designed to run on laptops and desktops with no dedicated GPU at all. The 860 MB install size is one of the smallest of any 2026 release, and the entire game fits into less than a gigabyte. Because the developer lists integrated graphics as the minimum, there is no separate VRAM requirement to worry about: the game draws from your system memory pool. The 4 GB system RAM floor is standard for modern PCs. If you own a computer built in the last twelve to fourteen years, you will clear this bar comfortably. Note that the Razer Deals listing shows a lower specification with 2 GB of RAM and Intel HD 2000/3000 graphics, but this appears to be an older demo build specification rather than the shipping version. I am using the official Steam page and Steam Support page as authoritative.

Recommended (Windows): Not Published

Yacht Club Games has not published a Recommended specifications tier for Mina the Hollower on Steam or anywhere else. The Steam page’s recommended section lists only “Requires a 64-bit processor and operating system.” This is common for small-scale indie titles where the developer expects the minimum specification to deliver a smooth experience at higher resolutions. The absence of a Recommended tier is not a concern here: the game runs at 1080p and 60 fps on integrated graphics from 2013, so any dedicated GPU from the last decade will comfortably handle higher resolutions. The 860 MB install size remains unchanged. If your PC clears the minimum, you can expect to run Mina the Hollower at your display’s native resolution without meaningful performance loss.

Minimum (macOS)

ComponentRequirement
OSmacOS 11 or later
ProcessorApple M1 or later
Memory (RAM)4 GB
GraphicsApple M1 integrated GPU
VRAMShared with system memory
Storage860 MB available space
Additional NotesNot compatible with macOS systems using Intel processors. Requires an Apple processor.

Source: Mina the Hollower Steam page and the official Steam Support page. Last verified: 3 October 2026.

What this means in practice: The macOS version requires an Apple M1 chip or later and is not compatible with Intel-based Macs. This is a hard platform restriction that Steam displays as a notice on the store page. The 4 GB RAM requirement matches the Windows minimum, and the 860 MB install size is identical. Because Apple Silicon uses unified memory, there is no separate VRAM figure. If you own an M1 Mac or newer, you can run Mina the Hollower without issue. If you own an Intel Mac, you cannot play this game.

Minimum (Linux / SteamOS)

ComponentRequirement
OSglibc 2.36+, 64-bit only
ProcessorIntel Core 4th generation (Haswell, 2013) / AMD Bulldozer (2011)
Memory (RAM)4 GB
GraphicsIntel HD 5000 (2013) / Radeon HD 7000 (2012) / Nvidia 900 Series (Maxwell, 2014)
VRAMNot listed separately
Storage860 MB available space
Additional NotesNative Linux build. Steam Deck Verified.

Source: Mina the Hollower Steam page and the official Steam Support page. Last verified: 3 October 2026.

What this means in practice: The Linux version requires glibc 2.36 or newer and the same Haswell-era processor and integrated graphics as the Windows minimum. This is a native Linux build rather than a Proton compatibility layer, which is good news for performance and stability on desktop Linux. The 4 GB RAM requirement and 860 MB install size are identical across all three PC platforms. If you are running a modern Linux distribution on a PC with integrated graphics, you will have no trouble running Mina the Hollower. Steam Deck users play through SteamOS, and the game is Verified on Valve’s handheld.

Nintendo Switch

ComponentRequirement
PlatformNintendo Switch (also playable on Switch 2 via backward compatibility)
FirmwareLatest Nintendo Switch system software
Storage Required894 MB (digital download, per Nintendo’s official eShop listing)
Resolution (Docked)1080p
Resolution (Handheld)720p
Frame Rate60 fps in both modes
Additional NotesTV, Tabletop, and Handheld modes supported. Save Data Cloud requires Nintendo Switch Online membership. No HD rumble.

Source: Nintendo eShop listing and RPG Site’s cross-platform analysis. Last verified: 3 October 2026.

What this means in practice: The Switch version targets 1080p at 60 fps when docked and 720p at 60 fps in handheld mode. The 894 MB file size is tiny and makes this an easy game to keep installed. RPG Site’s analysis found that the Switch version “obviously targets 60 fps, but it feels well-optimized,” and noted that the only disappointing aspect is the lack of HD rumble. The game looks “amazing on the Switch OLED screen” according to RPG Site. If you own an original Switch, this is a solid portable version, though the Switch 2 Edition offers significantly better performance and a free upgrade path for existing owners.

Nintendo Switch 2

ComponentRequirement
PlatformNintendo Switch 2 (Switch 2 Edition, free upgrade from Switch 1)
FirmwareLatest Nintendo Switch 2 system software
Storage Required896 MB (digital download, per Nintendo’s official eShop listing)
Resolution and Frame Rate (60 fps mode)1080p handheld / 4K docked, 60 fps
Resolution and Frame Rate (120 fps mode)1080p handheld / 1440p docked, 120 fps
HDRSupported on compatible displays
VRRSupported
Additional NotesFree upgrade pack for Switch 1 owners. Save data is cross-generation compatible. No HD rumble. Some frame rate drops in 120 fps docked mode in specific areas.

Source: Nintendo eShop listing, RPG Site’s cross-platform analysis, and Nintendo Life’s 120 fps announcement. Last verified: 3 October 2026.

What this means in practice: The Switch 2 Edition is a free upgrade for Switch 1 owners and offers two performance modes. The 60 fps mode runs at 1080p handheld and 4K docked, while the 120 fps mode runs at 1080p handheld and 1440p docked. HDR and VRR are supported, which are features the Switch 1 and PC versions lack. RPG Site’s testing found that the Switch 2 version “holds up well outside very few areas where it drops from 120 fps,” with drops most noticeable during screen transitions, falling to around 90 to 100 fps in those moments. The 896 MB file size is tiny, and save data carries over from Switch 1. RPG Site called the Switch 2 version “my favorite pure portable version right now” and noted it “feels superb at 120 fps handheld with HDR as an option.” The main caveat is the Joy-Con 2 controller’s split d-pad, which RPG Site described as “bad” for a game that benefits from precise directional input.

PlayStation 5 and PS5 Pro

ComponentRequirement
FirmwareLatest PS5 system software
StorageNot specified on the PlayStation Store listing; PC version requires 860 MB
Resolution and Frame Rate4K at 120 fps
HDRSupported
PS5 ProNo Pro-specific enhancements, as the base PS5 already targets 4K 120 fps
Additional NotesLight bar support on the DualSense controller, with the light changing color to match the area you are in. No haptic feedback. Instant save load times.

Source: RPG Site’s cross-platform analysis. Last verified: 3 October 2026.

What this means in practice: The PS5 version is the best version for TV and monitor play, running at 4K and 120 fps with no reported performance issues. RPG Site stated plainly: “If you want to play only on TV or a monitor, Mina the Hollower on PS5 is the best version with no technical issues, 4K 120fps, and with HDR supported.” The save load times are instant, and the dashboard-to-title load takes 2 seconds. The DualSense light bar changes color to match the game’s areas, which is a nice touch. The PS5 Pro offers no specific enhancements because the base PS5 already hits the maximum target. The main disappointment is the lack of DualSense haptic feedback, which RPG Site hopes will be patched in. If you own a PS5, this is the version to buy for couch play.

Xbox Series X|S

ComponentRequirement
FirmwareLatest Xbox system software
StorageNot specified on the Xbox Store listing; PC version requires 860 MB
Resolution and Frame Rate4K Ultra HD, Optimised for Xbox Series XS, stable 60 fps (Xbox One version cancelled to ensure this)
Additional NotesSingle player. Xbox achievements. Xbox presence.

Source: the Xbox Store listing and Xbox Headliner’s review. Last verified: 3 October 2026.

What this means in practice: The Xbox Store listing confirms 4K Ultra HD and Optimisation for Xbox Series X|S. Xbox Headliner’s review noted that the previously planned Xbox One version was cancelled specifically to ensure a stable 60 fps on current-generation consoles. The game runs at 60 fps on both Xbox Series X and Series S, though 120 fps support has not been confirmed for Xbox. If you own an Xbox Series X or Series S, the game runs without any performance concerns. There is no Xbox One version, so last-generation console owners cannot play Mina the Hollower on Xbox.

Steam Deck

ComponentRequirement
CompatibilityVerified (Valve’s highest rating). Confirmed by Rock Paper Shotgun, RPG Site, and Polygon.
Performance60 fps at 60hz recommended on Steam Deck OLED. The Deck’s screen is 90Hz, and RPG Site found that running the 120 fps target on a 90Hz screen causes screen transitions and menus to animate unevenly.
Additional NotesNo HDR support on PC, which means the Steam Deck OLED cannot use HDR. The game scales perfectly on the Deck’s screen without requiring borders. The 860 MB install size makes it easy to keep installed.

Source: RPG Site’s cross-platform analysis, Rock Paper Shotgun’s Verified round-up, and RPG Site’s Verified announcement. Last verified: 3 October 2026.

What this means in practice: Mina the Hollower carries a Steam Deck Verified badge, Valve’s highest compatibility rating, awarded two weeks before launch. RPG Site’s testing found that the game “runs flawlessly and it looks incredible on the Steam Deck OLED screen” at 60 fps. There is one important configuration note: the Steam Deck OLED’s screen is 90Hz, and running the game’s 120 fps target on a 90Hz display causes screen transitions and menus to animate unevenly. RPG Site recommends running the game at 60 fps at 60Hz for the smoothest experience. The lack of HDR on the PC version means the Steam Deck OLED cannot use HDR, which is a minor drawback compared to the Switch 2 version. The 860 MB install size means it takes up almost no storage space. If you own a Steam Deck and enjoy action-adventure games, this is an easy recommendation.

PlayStation 4: Listed on Some Databases, Not in Official Launch Announcements

Metacritic’s platform listing includes PlayStation 4, but the official launch announcements from Shacknews, Eurogamer, and Yahoo Tech list the platforms as PC, Mac, Linux, Nintendo Switch, Nintendo Switch 2, PS5, and Xbox Series X/S only. The game was not part of the PS4 launch lineup, and Sony’s PlayStation Store listing does not include a PS4 version. I am treating PS4 as unconfirmed rather than supported. If you own a PS4, you cannot play Mina the Hollower at launch.

Final Verdict: Can Your PC Run Mina the Hollower?

Yes, almost certainly. Mina the Hollower is one of the least demanding games of 2026. The minimum spec asks for an Intel Core 4th generation processor, 4 GB of RAM, and Intel HD 5000 integrated graphics, which is hardware from 2013. The 860 MB install size is one of the smallest of any 2026 release, and there is no SSD requirement. If you own a computer built in the last twelve to fourteen years that runs Windows 8 or later, you can run Mina the Hollower without difficulty.

The absence of a Recommended specification is not a concern here. The game runs at 1080p and 60 fps on integrated graphics, so any dedicated GPU from the last decade will comfortably handle higher resolutions. The 4 GB RAM requirement is modest, and the integrated graphics floor means you will not be VRAM-limited at any resolution. Do not upgrade your hardware for this game.

On console, the PS5 version is the best for TV and monitor play, running at 4K and 120 fps with HDR and instant save load times. The Switch 2 Edition offers a free upgrade for Switch 1 owners, with 4K 60 fps or 1440p 120 fps when docked, HDR and VRR support, and a 896 MB file size. The Switch 1 version runs at 1080p 60 fps docked and 720p 60 fps handheld with an 894 MB file size. The Xbox Series X|S version runs at 4K and 60 fps, with the Xbox One version cancelled to ensure stable performance. On Steam Deck, the game is Verified and runs at 60 fps at 60Hz on the OLED model, though the PC version lacks HDR. There is native macOS and Linux support on PC, with the macOS version requiring an Apple M1 or later and not supporting Intel Macs.

Specs and performance may be revised by Yacht Club Games in future patches, and the developer has already released version 1.0.5 across platforms with fixes for jump hang time and seed modifier input at 120 fps. This article reflects the Mina the Hollower Steam page, the official Steam Support page, the GOG listing, RPG Site’s cross-platform performance analysis and Steam Deck Verified announcement, Nintendo’s official eShop listing, Nintendo Life’s 120 fps announcement, Rock Paper Shotgun’s Verified round-up, Xbox Headliner’s review, Metacritic’s platform listing, Shacknews, Eurogamer, and Yahoo Tech as of 3 October 2026. Chen Xi verifies all specifications by checking official store pages and dating each table; no numbers in this article are estimated or inferred.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *