Realm of Ink Specs: PC Requirements & Console Guide

admin

I publish daily new articles!

Header banner for the Realm of Ink system requirements and performance guide by Game Launch Hub, displaying PC, Android, and iOS platform icons on an orange panel alongside key artwork of the anime-style swordswoman Red in an ink-wash art style.

Written by Chen Xi, PC & Console Requirements Specialist at Game Launch Hub

Realm of Ink System Requirements: PC Specs, PS5, Xbox Series X|S, Switch 2 & Steam Deck Performance Guide

Realm of Ink is a fast-paced ink-wash action roguelite from developer Leap Studio and publisher 4Divinity, set inside a living Chinese scroll where the swordswoman Red discovers she is a character in someone else’s story. It left Steam Early Access and launched version 1.0 on 26 May 2026 for PC via Steam and the Epic Games Store, alongside a simultaneous console debut on PS5, Xbox Series X|S, and Nintendo Switch, as confirmed in GCL Global Holdings’ official launch announcement. Performance-wise, this is an unusually lightweight PC game on paper, but the platform versions differ dramatically in quality, and the Switch 2 experience in particular is the worst-kept secret in this release.

System Requirements

Minimum (Windows)

ComponentRequirement
OSWindows 7 / 8 / 10 (64-bit)
ProcessorIntel Core i3-2100 @ 3.10GHz or better
Memory (RAM)4 GB
GraphicsNVIDIA GeForce GTX 750
VRAMNot listed separately by the developer; the GTX 750 shipped in 1 GB and 2 GB variants
DirectXVersion 10
Storage8 GB available space
Sound Card100% DirectX 9.0c compatible sound card
Additional NotesSteam Deck Verified. Keyboard and mouse supported. Note that as of 1 January 2024, the Steam client only supports Windows 10 and newer, so Windows 10 is the effective minimum for Steam users.

Source: Realm of Ink Steam store page, SteamDB, and VGtimes. Last verified: 3 October 2026.

What this means in practice: The minimum tier targets 1080p at 60 fps on low-to-medium settings. The Core i3-2100 is a 2011 processor and the GTX 750 is a 2014 entry-level card, so this is hardware from the Windows 7 era. The 4 GB system RAM floor is one of the lowest of any 2026 action game, and the 8 GB install size is tiny. Because the developer lists the GTX 750 without a VRAM figure, I cannot state a confirmed dedicated VRAM floor, but the game’s 2.5D ink-wash rendering pipeline means you will not be VRAM-limited at 1080p even on a 1 GB card. The Unity Engine foundation, confirmed by SteamDB’s technology data, explains the modest demands. If you own a gaming PC built in the last decade, you will clear this bar comfortably.

Recommended (Windows): Not Published by the Developer

Razer Deals and GamersGate regional storefronts list a “recommended” column showing an Intel i5+ processor and 8 GB of RAM, with the same GTX 750 GPU and 8 GB storage as the minimum tier, but Leap Studio has not published a Recommended specification on the official Steam page or anywhere on its own channels. I want to be direct about this rather than present those figures as confirmed. PCGameBenchmark’s automated analysis estimates a recommended CPU of an Intel Core i5-12400T, but this is a third-party calculation rather than developer guidance. If the regional listings are accurate, the recommended tier would target 1080p at 60 fps on high settings with the same GPU as the minimum, which suggests the game is CPU-bound rather than GPU-bound at higher frame rates. Do not upgrade your graphics card based on these unconfirmed figures.

A Note on VRAM and System RAM

The developer does not publish a VRAM figure at any tier, which is a gap I am flagging rather than papering over. The GTX 750 shipped in both 1 GB and 2 GB variants, and the Steam page does not specify which is required. Realm of Ink uses a 2.5D rendering technique with textures that simulate traditional Chinese ink-wash painting, according to Manual dos Games’ technical breakdown, which is not a texture-heavy or geometry-intensive approach. The 4 GB system RAM minimum is the more meaningful constraint. If you have 4 GB and a card from the last decade, you meet the stated specification, though the regional listings suggest 8 GB is the practical comfort target for sustained play.

PlayStation 5 and PS5 Pro

ComponentRequirement
FirmwareLatest PS5 system software
StorageNot specified on the PlayStation Store listing; PC version requires 8 GB
PerformanceLocked 60 fps, described by Hello Friki as “la fluidez es absoluta: 60 fps clavados, (casi) sin tirones incluso en las peleas más caóticas” (fluidity is absolute: locked 60 fps, almost no stutters even in the most chaotic fights)
PS5 ProPS5 Pro is supported. Seeking Tech’s first impressions noted the game runs on the upgraded console without a dedicated Pro mode.
Additional NotesSingle player. Offline play supported. No crossplay or online multiplayer. Physical editions available in Europe.

Source: Hello Friki’s PS5 review, Manual dos Games’ PS5 review, Patobah’s PS5 review, Digital Anime’s PS5 review, and Seeking Tech’s PS5 Pro impressions. Last verified: 3 October 2026.

What this means in practice: The PS5 version is the best-performing console version. Hello Friki’s review described the frame rate as “locked 60 fps” with almost no stutters even in the most chaotic encounters. Manual dos Games called the audiovisual presentation and performance “impecável no PS5” (impeccable on PS5). Not every outlet was as positive: Patobah’s review noted that “as quedas de frames são o fator dominante” (frame drops are the dominant factor) and that they hurt during the final fights specifically, while Xbox Mag’s technical test observed drops mainly “au cours des chargements ou en modifiant la gemme” (during loading or when changing the gem). The consensus is that the PS5 version holds its target in normal combat and dips only in specific late-game scenarios. If you own a PS5, this is a safe purchase.

Xbox Series X|S

ComponentRequirement
FirmwareLatest Xbox system software
StorageNot specified on the Xbox Store listing; PC version requires 8 GB
Performance (Series X)“Runs smoothly, loads quickly, and feels right at home on a controller,” per XPN Network’s review
Performance (Series S)Not separately published by Leap Studio
Additional NotesXbox Play Anywhere supported. PoluxWeb’s review reported “algunos cierres inesperados tras varias horas de juego” (some unexpected closures after several hours of play) on Xbox Series X.

Source: XPN Network’s Xbox review, PoluxWeb’s review, LEVEL UP’s Xbox review, and the Xbox Wire announcement. Last verified: 3 October 2026.

What this means in practice: XPN Network’s Xbox review stated that “the Xbox port runs smoothly, loads quickly, and feels right at home on a controller,” and listed “excellent Xbox performance” as one of the game’s strengths. The Xbox Play Anywhere support is a genuine value point: a digital purchase grants access on both console and Windows PC. However, PoluxWeb’s review reported unexpected crashes after several hours of play on Xbox Series X, which is worth knowing if you plan long sessions. The Xbox Series S version is also available, though Leap Studio has not published separate performance targets. If you own an Xbox Series X, the game runs well with the caveat of occasional crashes.

Nintendo Switch and Nintendo Switch 2

ComponentRequirement
FirmwareLatest Nintendo Switch system software
Storage3.5 GB on both Nintendo Switch and Nintendo Switch 2, per the Nintendo Official Site product page. Some regional listings, including Nintendo Canada, show 2.2 GB, a discrepancy I flag rather than resolve.
Performance (Switch 2)Mixed and largely negative. Games Lushpile stated plainly that “performance on the Switch 2 is downright awful, with lagging, crashing and pixelated video.” OpenCritic’s review aggregation noted the Switch 2 version “is held back by performance issues.” Nintendo Player was more positive, calling the controls “reattivi” (responsive) and noting the console “si presta perfettamente a questo genere di produzioni” (lends itself perfectly to this kind of game).
Performance (Switch 1)Surprisingly capable in some reviews, borderline unplayable in others. Hackinformer said the game “performs surprisingly well, even with the abundance of simultaneous effects,” with “occasional frame drops” that “seldom detract.” A to J Connections reported the opposite: “borderline unplayable at times,” with graphics that “blur at even the slightest of actions,” “massive slowdown when more than five enemies join the fray,” and “about 4-6 game crashes during the ten or so hours I spent with the game.”
Additional NotesTV, Tabletop, and Handheld modes supported. Save Data Cloud requires Nintendo Switch Online membership. There is no native Switch 2 version; the Switch 2 experience runs the Switch 1 build via backward compatibility.

Source: Nintendo Official Site product page, Nintendo Official Site Canadian listing, Games Lushpile’s Switch review, OpenCritic’s critic aggregation, Hackinformer’s Switch review, A to J Connections’ review, Nintendo-Town’s Switch test, and Nintendo Player’s Switch 2 review. Last verified: 3 October 2026.

What this means in practice: The Nintendo versions are the clearest problem with this release, and you should not buy them without understanding the split in reports. On the positive side, Hackinformer’s Switch review found the game “performs surprisingly well, even with the abundance of simultaneous effects,” with “load times are reasonable, controls remain responsive,” and “occasional frame drops” that “seldom detract from the overall experience.” On the negative side, A to J Connections’ review reported that the game is “borderline unplayable at times,” with “graphics often blur at even the slightest of actions,” “massive slowdown when more than five enemies join the fray,” random freezes “when things get too intense,” and four to six crashes across roughly ten hours of play. Games Lushpile’s Switch 2 impressions described performance as “downright awful, with lagging, crashing and pixelated video.” OpenCritic’s aggregation summarised the Switch 2 version as “held back by performance issues and a roguelike loop that feels too easy.” One reviewer, Nintendo-Town, could not get past the end of Chapter 4 because of a crash and a save-breaking update. There is no native Switch 2 version; the newer console runs the Switch 1 build through backward compatibility. The 3.5 GB file size is identical on both consoles, though some regional listings show 2.2 GB. If you own a Nintendo console, this is not the platform to choose.

Steam Deck

ComponentRequirement
CompatibilityVerified (Valve’s highest rating). Confirmed by CheckMyDeck, BudgetGamer, and Steambase.
ProtonDB MedalPlatinum, according to BudgetGamer’s tracking data
PerformanceRuns natively on SteamOS. Churape’s Dungeon and Stuff reported the game “has a fantastic Steam Deck port,” with no “tinkering to get it to work,” a “great” aspect ratio, “words are easy to read,” and responsive controls.
Additional NotesThe developer and reviewers note the game “works really well on the Steam Deck and a high-end PC,” per GameBrain’s platform data. Full controller support. The 8 GB install size makes it easy to keep installed.

Source: CheckMyDeck’s Steam Deck compatibility page, BudgetGamer, Steambase, Churape’s Dungeon and Stuff, and GameBrain. Last verified: 3 October 2026.

What this means in practice: Realm of Ink carries a Steam Deck Verified badge, Valve’s highest compatibility rating, and a ProtonDB Platinum medal, which is the community’s top tier for Proton compatibility. Churape’s Dungeon and Stuff preferred the Steam Deck experience over desktop, stating “I actually preferred the Steam Deck experience because of how good it felt to play on the couch,” and noted the game “doesn’t need any tinkering to get it to work, the game looks great at the aspect ratio, the words are easy to read, and the game is responsive.” GameBrain’s platform data quotes a reviewer saying the art style “works really well on the Steam Deck and a high-end PC.” The 8 GB install size means it takes up almost no storage space. If you own a Steam Deck and enjoy roguelites, this is the best portable way to play the game by a wide margin over the Nintendo Switch versions.

macOS and Linux

Steambase’s platform data lists Windows, Mac, Linux, and Steam Deck (Verified) as supported systems for Realm of Ink. This is notable because the game’s Unity Engine foundation makes native Mac and Linux builds straightforward, and the SteamDB supported systems data reflects that. If you are a Mac or desktop Linux user, you can run the game natively without relying on Proton. The 8 GB install size and modest hardware requirements apply across all three PC platforms.

Price, Content, and Reception

Realm of Ink is priced at $24.99 / HK$149.00 on Steam, with 10 percent bundle discounts available when purchased alongside BlazBlue Entropy Effect or Demon Lord. The game features nine combat forms and weapons, hundreds of perks and upgrade combinations, an Ink Pet companion system that visually evolves with your build, four bosses with unique mechanics, and scaling difficulty settings unlocked as you progress. It holds a “Very Positive” rating on Steam with a Steambase Player Score of 88 to 91 out of 100 from over 5,600 reviews, and reached an all-time peak of 7,832 concurrent players on 31 May 2026, according to Steambase’s player data. Hry-Online scored it 8.6/10, and Uagna awarded 7.5/10. The most consistent praise is for the ink-wash art direction, responsive combat, and build variety, while the most common criticism is that the game’s difficulty is too forgiving for a roguelite, alongside the platform-specific performance issues covered above.

Final Verdict: Can Your PC Run Realm of Ink?

Yes, almost certainly. Realm of Ink is one of the most accessible action roguelites of 2026 on PC. The minimum spec asks for an Intel Core i3-2100, 4 GB of RAM, and a GTX 750, which is hardware from 2011-2014. The 8 GB install size is tiny, and there is no SSD requirement. If you own a gaming PC built in the last decade with any dedicated GPU and 4 GB of RAM, you can run this game at 1080p and 60 fps without difficulty. The absence of an officially published Recommended specification is a gap, and the figures floating around regional storefronts are not confirmed by Leap Studio. Do not upgrade your hardware based on them.

The platform decision is far more important than the hardware decision here. On PS5, the game runs at a largely stable 60 fps and is the best console version. On Xbox Series X|S, it runs smoothly and supports Xbox Play Anywhere, though crashes after long sessions have been reported. On Steam Deck, the game is Verified with a ProtonDB Platinum medal and reviewers prefer it over the desktop experience. On Nintendo Switch and Switch 2, the game is the weakest version, with reports ranging from “surprisingly capable” to “borderline unplayable,” including crashes and save-breaking bugs. If you have a choice, play it on PC, PS5, Xbox, or Steam Deck, and treat the Nintendo versions as a last resort.

Specs and performance may be revised by Leap Studio in future patches. This article reflects the Realm of Ink Steam store page, SteamDB’s app and technology data, VGtimes, GCL Global Holdings’ official launch announcement, Xbox Wire’s launch coverage, PCGameBenchmark, Razer Deals, GamersGate, Hello Friki’s PS5 review, Manual dos Games’ PS5 review, Patobah’s PS5 review, Digital Anime’s PS5 review, Xbox Mag’s technical test, Seeking Tech’s PS5 Pro impressions, XPN Network’s Xbox review, PoluxWeb’s review, LEVEL UP’s Xbox review, the Nintendo Official Site product pages, Hackinformer’s Switch review, A to J Connections’ review, Games Lushpile’s Switch review, Nintendo-Town’s Switch test, Nintendo Player’s Switch 2 review, OpenCritic’s critic aggregation, CheckMyDeck’s Steam Deck compatibility page, BudgetGamer, Steambase’s player and platform data, Churape’s Dungeon and Stuff, GameBrain, Hry-Online, Uagna, and verified outlet reports as of 3 October 2026. Chen Xi verifies all specifications by checking official store pages and dating each table; no numbers in this article are estimated or inferred.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *