Honeycomb: The World Beyond System Requirements: PC Specs

admin

I publish daily new articles!

Promotional header banner for Honeycomb: The World Beyond system requirements by Game Launch Hub, displaying key art of the main character exploring an alien planet alongside platform icons.

Honeycomb: The World Beyond System Requirements: PC Specs, PS5 & Xbox Performance Guide

Honeycomb: The World Beyond is a sci-fi survival sandbox from developer Frozen Way Studio and publisher Snail Games USA, set on the alien planet Sota7 where you build bases, craft tools, and engineer new life forms through grafting and allogamy. Performance-wise, this is a mid-weight Unreal Engine 5 title with a stylised, colourful art direction that keeps raw GPU demands moderate, though the developer lists a 6 GB VRAM floor across both PC tiers. The game launched on 8 September 2026 for PC via Steam and the Epic Games Store, as well as PS5 and Xbox Series X|S, per Snail Games’ official global launch announcement. All specifications below are taken from the game’s official store listings and cross-checked against Gadgets360’s requirements breakdown and PCGameBenchmark’s spec page. I have dated every table and flagged where the developer has not published information.

System Requirements

Minimum (Windows, 1080p at 30 FPS)

ComponentRequirement
OSWindows 10 or later (64-bit)
ProcessorAMD Ryzen 5 3600 3.6 GHz
Memory (RAM)8 GB
GraphicsNVIDIA GeForce GTX 1660 (6 GB) or AMD Radeon RX 6500 XT (8 GB)
VRAM6 GB on the NVIDIA card, 8 GB on the AMD card
DirectXVersion 11
Storage40 GB available space; SATA SSD recommended
Additional Notes64-bit processor and operating system required

Source: Steam store page for Honeycomb: The World BeyondGadgets360, and PCGameBenchmark. Last verified: 11 September 2026.

What this means in practice: The minimum tier targets 1080p at 30 fps on low-to-medium settings. The Ryzen 5 3600 is a 2019 processor and the GTX 1660 is a 2019 entry-level card, so this is an accessible bar for anyone with a gaming PC built in the last six to seven years. The 6 GB VRAM requirement is the detail that matters most: the GTX 1660 ships in both 6 GB and 3 GB variants, and only the 6 GB model meets this spec. If you own a 3 GB GTX 1660 or a 4 GB card from the same era, you will fall short of the minimum. The SATA SSD recommendation is worth heeding even though it is not an absolute requirement: survival games with large open biomes and frequent asset streaming benefit significantly from faster storage, and a mechanical drive will produce noticeably longer load times. The 8 GB system RAM figure is modest, but survival sandboxes with persistent world states and base-building systems typically consume memory steadily during long sessions, so 8 GB will be tight if you run other applications in the background.

Recommended (Windows, 1080p at 60 FPS)

ComponentRequirement
OSWindows 11 or later (64-bit)
ProcessorIntel Core i5-9600K 3.7 GHz or AMD Ryzen 5 5600X 3.7 GHz
Memory (RAM)16 GB
GraphicsNVIDIA GeForce RTX 2070 (8 GB) or AMD Radeon RX 6700 (8 GB)
VRAM8 GB
DirectXVersion 12
Storage40 GB available space; NVMe SSD recommended
Additional Notes64-bit processor and operating system required; DLSS 4.5 with Ray Reconstruction, Multi Frame Generation, and NVIDIA Reflex supported on compatible hardware

Source: Steam store page for Honeycomb: The World BeyondGadgets360PCGameBenchmark, and NVIDIA’s DLSS 4.5 compatibility list. Last verified: 11 September 2026.

What this means in practice: The recommended tier targets 1080p at 60 fps on high settings. The i5-9600K and Ryzen 5 5600X are 2018-2020 processors, and the RTX 2070 is a 2018 upper-mid-range card. The jump from minimum to recommended is substantial: you are moving from a 2019 entry-level GPU to a 2018 upper-mid-range GPU, and from 8 GB to 16 GB of RAM. The RAM upgrade is the more important change for this genre, since survival sandboxes with base-building and persistent world states load more data into memory as your save file grows. The NVMe SSD recommendation at this tier is a step up from the minimum’s SATA SSD, and the difference will be most noticeable when loading into the game or transitioning between distant biomes. Frozen Way has partnered with NVIDIA to integrate DLSS 4.5 with Ray Reconstruction, Multi Frame Generation, and NVIDIA Reflex on compatible hardware, as confirmed in Snail Games’ official launch press release. This means RTX 40-series and 50-series owners can expect meaningful performance gains and reduced input latency beyond what the raw specs suggest.

PlayStation 5

ComponentRequirement
FirmwareLatest PS5 system software
StorageNot specified on the PlayStation Store listing; PC version requires 40 GB
PerformanceDynamic resolution roughly 1080p to 1440p, reconstructed to 4K; targets 60 fps in Performance Mode
Additional NotesSingle player; exact file size and frame rate targets not published by Frozen Way

Source: Snail Games’ global launch announcement2UpSkill’s console performance comparison, and the PlayStation Store listing. Last verified: 11 September 2026.

What this means in practice: The PS5 version launched on 8 September 2026 alongside the PC and Xbox releases. Frozen Way has not published specific resolution or frame rate targets for the console versions, but independent testing from 2UpSkill indicates that Performance Mode renders at a dynamic resolution in the roughly 1080p to 1440p range before reconstruction toward a 4K output, with strong 60 fps performance during normal gameplay. The PC recommended spec of an RTX 2070 for 1080p at 60 fps aligns with this, so the PS5’s 60 fps target is credible rather than optimistic. The 40 GB storage figure from the PC version is likely to be similar on console, though Sony’s storefront does not currently list a confirmed download size.

Xbox Series X|S

ComponentRequirement
FirmwareLatest Xbox system software
StorageNot specified on the Xbox Store listing; PC version requires 40 GB
PerformanceXbox Series XS Optimised; specific resolution and frame rate targets not published
Additional NotesSingle player; Xbox achievements; Xbox cloud saves

Source: Snail Games’ global launch announcement and the Xbox Store listing. Last verified: 11 September 2026.

What this means in practice: The Xbox version launched day-and-date with PC and PS5 on 8 September 2026 and carries the Xbox Series X|S Optimised badge. Frozen Way has not published specific resolution or frame rate targets for either console, though given the PS5’s 60 fps Performance Mode and the hardware parity between the platforms, Series X players should expect comparable performance. The Series S version is likely to run at a lower resolution, but this remains unconfirmed. The Xbox Store does not list an install size, though the PC version’s 40 GB footprint suggests the console download will be similar.

macOS

ComponentRequirement
OSmacOS 16 or later
ProcessorApple M1 Pro or better
Memory (RAM)16 GB
GraphicsApple M1 Pro or better (integrated)
VRAMShared with system memory
Storage30 GB available space
Additional NotesApple Silicon native build

Source: Gadgets360’s macOS requirements listing and SteamDB’s supported systems data. Last verified: 11 September 2026.

What this means in practice: The macOS version is a native Apple Silicon build rather than a Rosetta translation, which is good news for performance. The M1 Pro requirement means that older Intel-based Macs and base M1 machines are not officially supported. This is a higher barrier than the Windows minimum, where the GTX 1660 is a modest card by modern standards. The 30 GB storage requirement is slightly lower than the PC version’s 40 GB, which suggests the macOS build may use more aggressive texture compression or exclude some high-resolution assets. If you own an M1 Pro or later Mac, the game should run well, though the 16 GB unified memory requirement means you will want to close other applications before playing.

Steam Deck

The Steam page lists Honeycomb: The World Beyond as Unknown for Steam Deck compatibility, and Steambase confirms that there is no confirmed Steam Deck support information availabletuxDB’s Linux gaming aggregate notes that the game’s default configuration performs well on Steam Deck, but this is not an official verification from Frozen Way or Valve. Given the game’s 6 GB VRAM minimum and Unreal Engine 5 foundation, Steam Deck owners should check community reports before purchasing rather than assuming compatibility.

Nintendo Switch 2, PS4, and Xbox One: Not Available

Honeycomb: The World Beyond is available on PC, PS5, Xbox Series X|S, and macOS only. There is no Nintendo Switch 2, PS4, or Xbox One version, and neither Frozen Way Studio nor Snail Games USA has announced plans for those platforms. If you play primarily on a Nintendo console or a last-generation PlayStation or Xbox system, you cannot access this game.

Final Verdict: Can Your Setup Run Honeycomb: The World Beyond?

Honeycomb: The World Beyond is a reasonably accessible PC game, but there are two thresholds you need to clear before you can play. First, your GPU needs at least 6 GB of VRAM. A GTX 1660 with 6 GB meets the minimum, but the 3 GB variant of the same card does not, and neither does any 4 GB card. Second, the 40 GB install size and the developer’s explicit SSD recommendation mean this is not a game you can comfortably run from a mechanical hard drive.

If you have a gaming PC built in the last six years with a 6 GB or 8 GB GPU and 8 GB of RAM, you can run the game at 1080p and 30 fps. If you have 16 GB of RAM and a mid-range GPU from the last four to five years, you will hit 60 fps on high settings. The recommended tier is not inflated: the RTX 2070 is a sensible match for Unreal Engine 5 at 1080p 60 fps, and the NVIDIA DLSS 4.5 integration gives RTX 40-series and 50-series owners a meaningful performance advantage.

On console, the PS5 and Xbox Series X|S versions both target 60 fps in Performance Mode, and the game is optimised for current-gen hardware. There is no last-gen or Nintendo version. Mac users need an M1 Pro or later and 16 GB of unified memory, which rules out older Intel Macs and base M1 machines. Steam Deck compatibility remains unconfirmed, so handheld players should wait for official verification before buying.

Specs may be revised by Frozen Way Studio in future patches or updates, and console performance details may be published after launch. This article reflects the Steam store page, Epic Games Store listing, PlayStation Store, Xbox Store, Gadgets360, PCGameBenchmark, and Snail Games’ official launch announcement as of 11 September 2026. Chen Xi verifies all specifications by checking official store pages and dating each table; no numbers in this article are estimated or inferred.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *