Written by Chen Xi, PC & Console Requirements Specialist at Game Launch Hub
The Witch’s Bakery System Requirements: PC Specs, PS5, Xbox & Switch 2 Performance Guide
The Witch’s Bakery is a 2D side-scrolling adventure RPG from French indie studio Sunny Lab and publisher Silver Lining Interactive, following a young witch named Lunne who opens a bakery in modern Paris and heals people’s emotions through magical pastries. Performance-wise, this is a lightweight title by modern standards. The game runs on Unity Engine with hand-drawn 2D visuals, and the official minimum asks for a GTX 950 from 2015. It launches on 14 October 2026 for PC via Steam, PS5, Xbox Series X|S, Nintendo Switch, and Nintendo Switch 2. The game was originally slated for 20 August 2026 but was delayed by roughly two months to avoid competing with a crowded September release window.
System Requirements
Minimum (Windows)
| Component | Requirement |
|---|---|
| OS | Windows 10 Version or higher (64-bit) |
| Processor | AMD Athlon X4 / Intel Core i5-4460 |
| Memory (RAM) | 8 GB |
| Graphics | NVIDIA GeForce GTX 950 / AMD Radeon R7 370 |
| VRAM | Not listed separately by the developer; the GTX 950 ships with 2 GB, the R7 370 with 2 GB or 4 GB |
| DirectX | Version 11 |
| Storage | 10 GB available space (some listings show 20 GB) |
| Additional Notes | Requires a 64-bit processor and operating system. Full controller support. Keyboard and mouse supported. |
Source: Steam store page for The Witch’s Bakery and GameSpace. Last verified: 19 September 2026.
What this means in practice: The minimum tier targets 1080p at 30 to 60 fps on low-to-medium settings. The Core i5-4460 is a 2014 processor and the GTX 950 is a 2015 entry-level card, so this is hardware from roughly ten to eleven years ago. This is an accessible bar for anyone with a gaming PC built in the last decade. The 2 GB VRAM on the GTX 950 is more than sufficient for a hand-drawn 2D game, so you will not be VRAM-limited at 1080p. The 8 GB system RAM requirement is standard for modern PCs, and the 10 GB install size is modest, though some listings show 20 GB, which may reflect different regional packages or the inclusion of the digital cookbook that comes with early purchases. Note that SteamDB confirms the game is built on Unity Engine with FMOD SDK and Unity URP, which are lightweight technologies for 2D rendering.
Recommended (Windows)
| Component | Requirement |
|---|---|
| OS | Windows 10 Version or higher (64-bit) |
| Processor | AMD Ryzen 3 / Intel Core i5 Skylake |
| Memory (RAM) | 8 GB |
| Graphics | NVIDIA GeForce GTX 970 / AMD Radeon RX 570 |
| VRAM | Not listed separately; the GTX 970 ships with 4 GB, the RX 570 with 4 GB or 8 GB |
| DirectX | Version 11 |
| Storage | 10 GB available space (some listings show 20 GB) |
| Additional Notes | Requires a 64-bit processor and operating system. Full controller support. |
Source: Steam store page for The Witch’s Bakery, GameSpace, and VGtimes. Last verified: 19 September 2026.
What this means in practice: The recommended tier targets 1080p at 60 fps on high settings, and the hardware request is a modest step up from the minimum. The Ryzen 3 and Core i5 Skylake are processors from 2015-2017, and the GTX 970 is a 2014 upper-mid-range card. The 8 GB RAM requirement is identical to the minimum, which tells you the game’s memory footprint does not scale meaningfully with graphical settings. The 4 GB VRAM on the GTX 970 is far more than this game needs for 2D rendering. If you have a gaming PC from the last seven to eight years with a mid-range GPU and 8 GB of RAM, you will meet this tier without issue. The difference between minimum and recommended is essentially about guaranteeing smooth 60 fps rather than unlocking major visual upgrades.
A Note on VRAM and System RAM
The Witch’s Bakery is a hand-drawn 2D adventure game with static backgrounds, 2D character portraits, and animated sprite work. The 2 GB VRAM on the minimum GPU and the 4 GB VRAM on the recommended GPU are both far more than this game will ever use. You will not encounter texture streaming issues or VRAM bottlenecks at any resolution. The 8 GB system RAM requirement is the more relevant figure, and it reflects the game’s memory footprint holding multiple Paris districts, NPC dialogue trees, recipe data, and the Heart Palace dungeon states in memory simultaneously. Do not upgrade your GPU for this game. If you have 8 GB of RAM and a graphics card from the last decade, you are covered.
PlayStation 5
| Component | Requirement |
|---|---|
| Firmware | Latest PS5 system software |
| Storage | Not specified on the PlayStation Store listing; PC version requires 10 GB |
| Performance | Specific resolution and frame rate targets not published by Sunny Lab; Push Square’s preview describes the game as “effectively Kiki’s Delivery Service in Paris” |
| Additional Notes | DualSense vibration and trigger effects supported; single player |
Source: PlayStation Store listing and Push Square’s preview. Last verified: 19 September 2026.
What this means in practice: The PS5 version launches on 14 October 2026 alongside the PC and Xbox versions. Sunny Lab has not published specific resolution or frame rate targets for the PS5. Given the game’s extremely low PC requirements and the PS5’s hardware capabilities, you should expect a smooth 60 fps experience at 1080p or higher. Push Square’s preview compared the game’s vibe to Studio Ghibli’s Kiki’s Delivery Service, which aligns with the hand-drawn art style and cosy tone. The DualSense controller’s vibration and trigger effects are supported, which adds tactile feedback during baking and exploration sequences. If you own a PS5, this version should perform without any technical concerns.
Xbox Series X|S
| Component | Requirement |
|---|---|
| Firmware | Latest Xbox system software |
| Storage | Not specified on the Xbox Store listing; PC version requires 10 GB |
| Performance | Specific resolution and frame rate targets not published by Sunny Lab |
| Additional Notes | Single player; Xbox achievements; Xbox cloud saves |
Source: Gematsu’s release coverage and the Xbox Store listing. Last verified: 19 September 2026.
What this means in practice: The Xbox version launched on 14 October 2026 and is available on both Xbox Series X|S and Xbox One, according to Gematsu’s release coverage. Sunny Lab has not published specific resolution or frame rate targets for either console. Given the game’s low system requirements and the hardware capabilities of the Series X, a smooth 60 fps experience is a reasonable expectation. The Xbox Series S version is likely to run at a lower resolution, though this remains unconfirmed. The Xbox Store does not list an install size, though the PC version’s 10 GB footprint suggests the console download will be similar. The game supports Xbox cloud saves, so progress carries across consoles if you play on multiple Xbox systems.
Nintendo Switch and Switch 2
| Component | Requirement |
|---|---|
| Firmware | Latest Nintendo Switch system software |
| Storage | Not specified on the Nintendo eShop listing; PC version requires 10 GB |
| Performance | Specific resolution and frame rate targets not published by Sunny Lab |
| Additional Notes | TV, Tabletop, and Handheld modes supported; physical editions available for Switch and Switch 2 at £29.99 / $34.99 / €34.99 |
Source: Gematsu’s release coverage, Digital Foundry’s Switch 2 listing, and Gamer’s launch coverage. Last verified: 19 September 2026.
What this means in practice: The Switch and Switch 2 versions launched on 14 October 2026 alongside the other platforms. Sunny Lab has not published specific resolution or frame rate targets for either Switch console. Given the game’s 2D pixel-art-inspired visuals and the Switch’s hardware, the original Switch version is likely to run at 30 fps, while the Switch 2 version should comfortably target 60 fps. Digital Foundry’s Switch 2 listing confirms a physical Game-Key Card release priced at $34.99 / £29.99, and Gamer’s coverage confirms the game supports full Japanese localisation. Physical editions are also available for PS5 and Switch, with early purchases including a digital cookbook. If you own a Switch 2, this is a natural fit for handheld play given the game’s cosy pacing and short daily loops.
Steam Deck
| Component | Requirement |
|---|---|
| Compatibility | Unknown (Valve’s official rating); GameRant’s compatibility tracker lists Steam Deck status as “Unknown” |
| Performance | Playable according to community reports; a preview from Lemon8 confirms the demo ran on Steam Deck |
| Additional Notes | Full controller support. The game’s low system requirements and Unity Engine foundation suggest it should run well on the handheld. |
Source: GameRant’s compatibility tracker, Lemon8’s demo preview, and SteamDB’s supported systems data. Last verified: 19 September 2026.
What this means in practice: The Witch’s Bakery’s Steam Deck compatibility status is unknown, meaning Valve has not granted it a Verified or Playable rating as of my verification date. However, community reports are positive. A preview from Lemon8 confirms that the demo “is compatible with the Steam Deck,” and the reviewer played the game on the handheld without issues. The game’s Unity Engine foundation, 2 GB VRAM minimum, and 10 GB install size are all well within the Steam Deck’s capabilities. Full controller support is confirmed on the Steam page. If you own a Steam Deck and enjoy cosy games, this is very likely to be a comfortable portable experience, but check for official Valve verification or current community reports before purchasing if handheld play is your primary interest.
macOS, Linux, and Console Availability
The Witch’s Bakery is a Windows-only release on PC. SteamDB’s supported systems data lists Windows as the only operating system, and there is no macOS or native Linux version available. Steam Deck users play through Proton, and community reports confirm this works, but it is not officially supported.
On console, the game is available on PS5, Xbox Series X|S, Xbox One, Nintendo Switch, and Nintendo Switch 2. Physical editions are available for PS5, Switch, and Switch 2 at £29.99 / $34.99 / €34.99, with early purchases including a digital cookbook. There is no PS4 version confirmed.
Final Verdict: Can Your PC Run The Witch’s Bakery?
Yes, almost certainly. The Witch’s Bakery is one of the most accessible games of 2026. The minimum spec asks for a GTX 950 and 8 GB of RAM, which is hardware from 2015. The recommended tier asks for a GTX 970 and 8 GB of RAM, which is still hardware from 2014. The 10 GB install size is modest, and the game runs on Windows 10. If you own a desktop or laptop with a dedicated GPU built in the last ten years, you will run The Witch’s Bakery without difficulty.
The 8 GB RAM requirement is the same at both tiers, which confirms the game’s memory footprint does not scale with settings. The VRAM requirements are tiny by modern standards, and you will not be VRAM-limited at any resolution. This is a game where the hardware requirements exist to ensure smooth performance rather than to push graphical fidelity. If you have a gaming PC from the last seven to eight years with any mid-range GPU and 8 GB of RAM, you are covered.
On console, the game launches on 14 October 2026 for PS5, Xbox Series X|S, Xbox One, Switch, and Switch 2. Sunny Lab has not published specific resolution or frame rate targets for any console, but given the game’s negligible hardware demands, you should expect smooth performance on every platform. The Switch 2 version is a natural fit for handheld play given the game’s cosy pacing and short daily loops. The PS5 version supports DualSense vibration and trigger effects. The Xbox version supports cloud saves.
On Steam Deck, the game’s official status is unknown, but community reports from the demo confirm it runs well on the handheld. The full controller support and low system requirements make it a strong candidate for portable play. There is no macOS version and no native Linux version.
Specs may be revised by Sunny Lab in future patches or updates. This article reflects the Steam store page, GameSpace, VGtimes, SteamDB, Gematsu, Digital Foundry, Gamer, Push Square, GameRant, and Lemon8 as of 19 September 2026. Chen Xi verifies all specifications by checking official store pages and dating each table; no numbers in this article are estimated or inferred.








