Written by Chen Xi, PC & Console Requirements Specialist at Game Launch Hub
Resonance: A Plague Tale Legacy System Requirements: PC Specs, PS5, Xbox Series X|S & Steam Deck Performance Guide
Resonance: A Plague Tale Legacy is the third entry in Asobo Studio’s historical horror series and a prequel to 2019’s Innocence, trading the series’ traditional stealth for faster, combo-driven combat while splitting its story across two timelines: 14th-century Crete and the ancient Minoan civilization. Performance-wise, this is a well-optimised current-generation title. The PC minimum asks for a GTX 1060 from 2016, and every target on the official specification sheet is achievable without upscaling or frame generation, which is unusually generous in 2026. The game launched on 27 August 2026 for PC via Steam and the Epic Games Store, PS5, and Xbox Series X|S, and is available day one on Xbox Game Pass. There is no PS4, Xbox One, or Nintendo Switch version.
System Requirements
Minimum (Windows, 1080p at 30 FPS, Low Preset)
| Component | Requirement |
|---|---|
| OS | Windows 10 or Windows 11 (64-bit) |
| Processor | AMD Ryzen 3 3100 or Intel Core i3-12100 |
| Memory (RAM) | 16 GB |
| Graphics | NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060 (6 GB) or AMD Radeon RX 5500 XT (6 GB) |
| VRAM | 6 GB |
| DirectX | Version 12 (DX12.1 with Shader Model 6.6 required) |
| Storage | 75 GB available space, SSD required |
| Additional Notes | 4-core / 8-thread CPU required. Targets 1080p at 30 FPS on Low preset without upscaling or frame generation. SSD mandatory, no HDD fallback. |
Source: Steam store page for Resonance: A Plague Tale Legacy and Caseking’s system requirements breakdown. Last verified: 19 September 2026.
What this means in practice: The minimum tier targets 1080p at 30 fps on Low settings, and the hardware list is more accessible than most 2026 AAA releases. The Ryzen 3 3100 is a 2020 budget processor and the GTX 1060 is a 2016 mid-range card. The 6 GB VRAM floor is the detail that matters most: the 3 GB variant of the GTX 1060 will not meet this spec. The 16 GB system RAM requirement is non-negotiable and appears unchanged at both tiers. The SSD requirement has no HDD fallback, which is standard for current-generation titles but worth emphasising. The most notable detail is that these targets are achievable without DLSS, FSR, or frame generation, according to Gamereactor’s spec breakdown. If you enable upscaling, you will comfortably exceed the stated frame rates. If you have a gaming PC from the last six to seven years with a 6 GB GPU and 16 GB of RAM, you will clear this bar.
Recommended (Windows, 1080p at 60 FPS, Ultra Preset)
| Component | Requirement |
|---|---|
| OS | Windows 10 or Windows 11 (64-bit) |
| Processor | AMD Ryzen 5 5600X or Intel Core i5-12400F |
| Memory (RAM) | 16 GB |
| Graphics | NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3060 Ti (8 GB) or AMD Radeon RX 6700 XT (8 GB) |
| VRAM | 8 GB |
| DirectX | Version 12 (DX12.1 with Shader Model 6.6 required) |
| Storage | 75 GB available space, SSD required |
| Additional Notes | Targets 1080p at 60 FPS on Ultra preset without upscaling or frame generation. |
Source: Steam store page for Resonance: A Plague Tale Legacy and IXBT Games. Last verified: 19 September 2026.
What this means in practice: The recommended tier targets 1080p at 60 fps on Ultra settings, and the RTX 3060 Ti is a 2020 upper-mid-range card. The jump from 6 GB to 8 GB of VRAM is the most meaningful change between tiers, and it reflects the game’s detailed environmental rendering, material lighting, and volumetrics at higher quality settings. The 16 GB RAM requirement is identical to the minimum, which confirms the game’s memory footprint does not scale with graphical settings. IXBT Games notes that the RTX 3060 Ti is “already over 5.5 years old,” which puts the recommended tier’s accessibility in perspective. If you have a gaming PC from the last four to five years with an RTX 3060 Ti or better and 16 GB of RAM, you will meet this tier comfortably.
PlayStation 5 and PS5 Pro
| Component | Requirement |
|---|---|
| Firmware | Latest PS5 system software |
| Storage | Not specified on the PlayStation Store listing; PC version requires 75 GB |
| Performance (PS5) | Quality 30fps: native 1440p upscaled to 4K; Performance 60fps: 1080p upscaled to 1440p; 120Hz mode unlocks 40fps and uncapped VRR |
| Performance (PS5 Pro) | Quality 30fps: native 1800p upscaled to 4K with PSSR; Performance 60fps: 1260p upscaled to 4K with PSSR; 120Hz VRR unlocked |
| Additional Notes | PSSR upscaling exclusive to PS5 Pro. Base PS5 uses TAA. |
Source: Digital Foundry’s technical review, 2Playerz console breakdown, and PS5 Pro Games performance data. Last verified: 19 September 2026.
What this means in practice: The PS5 version offers two primary modes. Quality mode runs at native 1440p upscaled to 4K at 30 fps, while Performance mode runs at 1080p upscaled to 1440p at 60 fps. Digital Foundry’s review notes that the Performance mode’s resolution drop is “generally worth the added fluidity,” despite minor reductions in draw distance. The PS5 Pro is a class apart: Quality mode pushes to native 1800p upscaled to 4K using Sony’s PSSR upscaling, and Performance mode runs at 1260p upscaled to 4K, also with PSSR. PSSR “does a better job of sharpening distant details while significantly reducing shimmer and banding during camera movement,” according to Digital Foundry. Both consoles support 120Hz displays, which transforms the 30 fps Quality mode into a 40 fps experience and unlocks uncapped frame rates with VRR. If you own a PS5 Pro and a 120Hz TV, this is the definitive console version.
Xbox Series X|S
| Component | Requirement |
|---|---|
| Firmware | Latest Xbox system software |
| Storage | Not specified on the Xbox Store listing; PC version requires 75 GB |
| Performance (Series X) | Quality 30fps: native 1440p upscaled to 4K; Performance 60fps: 1080p upscaled to 1440p; 120Hz mode unlocks 40fps and uncapped VRR |
| Performance (Series S) | 30/40fps: native 1080p, no upscaling |
| Additional Notes | Xbox Play Anywhere supported. Optimised for Xbox Series XS. |
Source: Digital Foundry’s technical review, Pure Xbox performance analysis, and the Xbox Store listing. Last verified: 19 September 2026.
What this means in practice: The Xbox Series X mirrors the base PS5’s performance profile, but with a notable distinction: Pure Xbox reports that the Series X version “performs best out of all consoles, including the PS5 Pro.” Digital Foundry’s testing confirms that the Series X “consistently delivers a tighter frame-rate and better optimisation than its PlayStation counterparts,” particularly in the 120Hz unlocked mode. The Xbox Series S runs at native 1080p with no upscaling at 30 or 40 fps, which is a significant drop from the Series X and PS5. Xbox Play Anywhere support means a digital purchase grants access on both console and Windows PC, and the game is available day one on Xbox Game Pass, making it a low-risk option for subscribers.
Steam Deck
| Component | Requirement |
|---|---|
| Compatibility | Unknown (Valve’s official rating); SteamDB lists Steam Deck status as unconfirmed |
| Performance | Not independently verified; the 16 GB RAM and 6 GB VRAM requirements are within the Deck’s unified memory |
| Additional Notes | The game’s SSD requirement and current-generation rendering pipeline may limit performance on the Deck |
Source: SteamDB’s supported systems data and GameRant’s compatibility tracker. Last verified: 19 September 2026.
What this means in practice: Resonance: A Plague Tale Legacy has no official Steam Deck rating from Valve as of my verification date. The game’s 16 GB RAM requirement is within the Steam Deck’s 16 GB unified memory, but the 6 GB VRAM minimum is a concern: the Steam Deck’s GPU accesses a portion of that unified memory rather than a dedicated 6 GB pool. The game’s SSD requirement is met by the Deck’s internal storage, but the current-generation rendering pipeline and the PC recommended spec’s RTX 3060 Ti suggest the Deck may struggle to maintain 30 fps at 1080p. If you own a Steam Deck and want to play this game, check current community reports before purchasing rather than assuming compatibility. The game is not available on Nintendo Switch 2, and there is no macOS or native Linux version.
macOS and Linux: Not Available
Resonance: A Plague Tale Legacy is a Windows-only release on PC. There is no macOS or native Linux version available. Steam Deck users play through Proton, and the performance concerns noted above apply.
Final Verdict: Can Your Setup Run Resonance: A Plague Tale Legacy?
Resonance: A Plague Tale Legacy is one of the most accessible current-generation AAA games of 2026. The minimum spec asks for a GTX 1060 with 6 GB of VRAM and 16 GB of RAM, which is hardware from 2016. The recommended spec asks for an RTX 3060 Ti with 8 GB of VRAM and 16 GB of RAM, which is achievable on most mid-range gaming PCs from the last four to five years. The 75 GB install size is substantial, and the SSD requirement has no HDD fallback. The most generous detail is that every performance target is achievable without upscaling or frame generation, which means enabling DLSS or FSR will give you a comfortable performance buffer beyond the stated frame rates.
The 16 GB RAM requirement is the same at both tiers, which tells you the game’s memory footprint does not scale with settings. The 6 GB VRAM floor is the hard threshold: a 4 GB card will not meet the minimum spec. If you have a gaming PC from the last five to six years with a 6 GB GPU and 16 GB of RAM, you can run this game. If you have an RTX 3060 Ti or better, you meet the recommended tier.
On console, the Xbox Series X is the best-performing version, outpacing even the PS5 Pro in frame rate consistency according to Digital Foundry and Pure Xbox. The PS5 Pro offers the sharpest image thanks to PSSR upscaling, but the Series X holds a slight performance lead. The PS5 and Series X both offer 30 fps Quality and 60 fps Performance modes, with 120Hz displays unlocking a 40 fps middle ground and VRR. The Xbox Series S is the weakest console version, capped at native 1080p with no upscaling. The game is day one on Game Pass, which makes the Xbox version a particularly low-risk option for subscribers. There is no Nintendo Switch 2 version, and Steam Deck compatibility is unconfirmed.
Specs and performance may be revised by Asobo Studio in future patches. This article reflects the Steam store page, Caseking’s system requirements breakdown, IXBT Games, Gamereactor, Digital Foundry’s technical review, 2Playerz, PS5 Pro Games, Pure Xbox, and verified outlet reports as of 19 September 2026. Chen Xi verifies all specifications by checking official store pages and dating each table; no numbers in this article are estimated or inferred.








