Written by Chen Xi, PC & Console Requirements Specialist at Game Launch Hub
Outbound System Requirements: PC Specs, PS5, Xbox Series X|S, Switch 2 & Steam Deck Performance Guide
Outbound is a cozy open-world exploration and crafting game from Dutch indie studio Square Glade Games and publisher Silver Lining Interactive, set in a utopian near-future where you convert an empty camper van into a solar, wind, or water-powered mobile home. Performance-wise, this is one of the most accessible open-world titles of 2026 on PC, though the console versions have drawn mixed technical reports. It launched on 11 May 2026 for PC via Steam and the Epic Games Store, as well as Xbox Series X|S with day-one availability on Xbox Game Pass, with PS5, Nintendo Switch, and Nintendo Switch 2 versions following on 14 May 2026. The official specifications are on the Steam store page and the Steam Support page, and I have cross-checked them against VGtimes and PCGameBenchmark.
System Requirements
Minimum (Windows)
| Component | Requirement |
|---|---|
| OS | Windows 10 (64-bit) |
| Processor | Intel Core i3-10100F or AMD Ryzen 3 3100 |
| Memory (RAM) | 4 GB |
| Graphics | NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1050 (2 GB) or AMD Radeon RX 570 (4 GB or 8 GB) |
| VRAM | 2 GB on the GTX 1050; 4 GB minimum on the RX 570 |
| DirectX | Version 11 |
| Storage | 16 GB available space |
| Sound Card | DirectX Compatible Sound Card |
| Additional Notes | Requires a 64-bit processor and operating system. Single-player and online co-op for up to 4 players. Partial controller support. |
Source: Steam store page for Outbound, Steam Support page for Outbound, and VGtimes. Last verified: 28 September 2026.
What this means in practice: The minimum tier targets 1080p at 30 fps on low-to-medium settings. The Core i3-10100F is a 2020 budget processor and the GTX 1050 is a 2016 entry-level card, so this is hardware from roughly six to ten years ago. The 2 GB VRAM floor on the GTX 1050 is the practical minimum, though the RX 570’s 4 GB gives you more headroom. The 4 GB system RAM requirement is one of the lowest of any 2026 open-world release, and it reflects the game’s lightweight low-poly art style and minimal physics simulation. The 16 GB install size is modest for an open-world game with multiple biomes and a modular building system. Note that some regional storefronts list conflicting figures: a Razer Deals listing shows “4 MB RAM” and “16 MB available space,” which are clearly typos for 4 GB and 16 GB respectively. I am using the official Steam page and Steam Support page figures, which agree with each other and with VGtimes. If you own a gaming PC from the last six to seven years with a 2 GB GPU and 4 GB of RAM, you will clear this bar.
Recommended (Windows)
| Component | Requirement |
|---|---|
| OS | Windows 11 (64-bit) |
| Processor | Intel Core i3-12100F or AMD Ryzen 7 1700 |
| Memory (RAM) | 8 GB |
| Graphics | NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3060 or AMD Radeon RX 7600 XT |
| VRAM | 12 GB on the RTX 3060; 16 GB on the RX 7600 XT |
| DirectX | Version 12 |
| Storage | 16 GB available space |
| Sound Card | DirectX Compatible Sound Card |
| Additional Notes | Requires a 64-bit processor and operating system. |
Source: Steam store page for Outbound, Steam Support page for Outbound, and Can I Run It. Last verified: 28 September 2026.
What this means in practice: The recommended tier targets 1080p at 60 fps on high settings. The i3-12100F is a 2022 budget processor and the RTX 3060 is a 2021 mid-range card. The jump from 4 GB to 8 GB of RAM is the most meaningful change between tiers, and it reflects the game’s memory footprint growing as you build up your van with dozens of modular parts and load larger biomes with more resources. The RTX 3060’s 12 GB VRAM is far more than this game needs at 1080p, and you will not be VRAM-limited at this resolution. The 16 GB install size remains unchanged. If you have a gaming PC from the last three to four years with a mid-range GPU and 8 GB of RAM, you will meet this tier comfortably.
A Note on VRAM and System RAM
Outbound is a low-poly open-world exploration and crafting game with a colourful, cartoonish art style and minimal particle effects. The 2 GB VRAM on the minimum GTX 1050 is sufficient at 1080p, and the 12 GB VRAM on the recommended RTX 3060 is far more than the game will ever use. You will not encounter texture streaming issues or VRAM bottlenecks at any resolution the game supports. The 4 GB system RAM minimum is unusually low for a 2026 open-world title, and the 8 GB recommendation reflects the game’s memory footprint growing as you build up your mobile home with dozens of modular parts. Do not upgrade your GPU beyond an RTX 3060 for this game. The CPU and RAM are the components that matter most for maintaining a stable frame rate while driving through dense forest biomes.
PC Performance Reality: Read Before Buying
The official specifications tell one story, but independent testing reveals more nuance. Game8’s PC review scored the game 70/100 and noted that while the visuals are “solid and aesthetically pleasing,” the game is “bogged down by random FPS drops, strange animations that feel out of place, and the occasional glitchy asset, such as the floating tire tracks.” OpenCritic’s review aggregation found that “the PC version of Outbound is technically superior,” with “the issues with limited detail and blurry images at high settings largely eliminated” compared to console versions. ComicBook’s review noted that “the game itself runs well on PC, and many of the biggest issues here feel fixable in time.” The developer has released multiple patches since launch, including a Fishing Update in July 2026 that added new content across all platforms. If you are buying on PC, check the latest patch notes and Steam reviews for the current state.
PlayStation 5
| Component | Requirement |
|---|---|
| Firmware | Latest PS5 system software |
| Storage | Not specified on the PlayStation Store listing; PC version requires 16 GB |
| Performance | Specific resolution and frame rate targets not published by Square Glade Games. OpenCritic’s review aggregation notes that “the PC version of Outbound is technically superior,” suggesting the console versions have some visual compromises. |
| Additional Notes | Single player, online co-op for up to 4 players. PS Plus required for online play. Offline play enabled. DualSense vibration supported. |
Source: OpenCritic’s platform listing, IGN’s launch trailer, and the PlayStation Store listing. Last verified: 28 September 2026.
What this means in practice: The PS5 version launched on 14 May 2026, three days after the PC and Xbox releases. Square Glade Games has not published specific resolution or frame rate targets for the PS5. OpenCritic’s review aggregation notes that “the PC version of Outbound is technically superior,” with “a significant graphical boost on a computer,” suggesting the console versions run at lower resolutions or with reduced detail. The game supports single player and online co-op for up to 4 players, with PS Plus required for online play. The DualSense controller’s vibration feature is supported. If you own a PS5, the game is playable, but the visual presentation may be noticeably softer than on a capable gaming PC.
Xbox Series X|S
| Component | Requirement |
|---|---|
| Firmware | Latest Xbox system software |
| Storage | Not specified on the Xbox Store listing; PC version requires 16 GB |
| Performance (Series X) | Specific resolution and frame rate targets not published by Square Glade Games. IGN’s launch trailer confirms the game is Optimised for Xbox Series XS. |
| Performance (Series S) | Specific targets not published. Likely to run at a lower resolution than Series X. |
| Additional Notes | Day one on Xbox Game Pass. Xbox Play Anywhere supported. Single player, online co-op for up to 4 players. Xbox Cloud Gaming compatible. |
Source: IGN’s launch trailer, the Xbox Store listing, and Xbox Wire. Last verified: 28 September 2026.
What this means in practice: The Xbox version launched on 11 May 2026, three days before the PS5 and Switch versions. The game is Optimised for Xbox Series X|S and available day one on Xbox Game Pass, making it a low-risk option for subscribers. Xbox Play Anywhere support means a digital purchase grants access on both console and Windows PC, with Xbox Cloud Gaming compatibility for streaming. Square Glade Games has not published specific resolution or frame rate targets for either Xbox console. The Xbox Series S version is likely to run at a lower resolution, though this remains unconfirmed. If you own an Xbox Series X or Series S, the game runs, and the Game Pass availability makes it easy to try without a full purchase.
Nintendo Switch and Switch 2
| Component | Requirement |
|---|---|
| Firmware | Latest Nintendo Switch system software |
| Storage | 7.8 GB on Nintendo Switch; 3 GB on Nintendo Switch 2 |
| Performance (Switch 2) | Runs nicely on Switch 2 with no stuttery frame rates or laggy load times, according to Nintendo Life’s review. Some background objects like trees and rocks do not appear until you get closer to them. |
| Performance (Switch) | NoobFeed’s review reports “frequent frame drops and pop-in” on Switch hardware, with “frame rate inconsistencies, and noticeable pop-in and texture streaming issues.” |
| Additional Notes | TV, Tabletop, and Handheld modes supported. Online co-op for up to 4 players. Save Data Cloud requires Nintendo Switch Online membership. Release date: 14 May 2026. |
Source: Nintendo Life’s Switch 2 review, Nintendo Official Site product page, NoobFeed’s review, 4P.de’s Switch 2 test, Nin Ex-Press, and Nintendo-Town. Last verified: 28 September 2026.
What this means in practice: The file size difference between Switch and Switch 2 is striking: the original Switch version requires 7.8 GB, while the Switch 2 version requires just 3 GB. This is because the Switch 2 version uses a more efficient asset pipeline and better compression, and it is a native build rather than a backward-compatible one. Nintendo Life’s Switch 2 review states that “Outbound runs nicely enough on Switch 2; I didn’t come across any stuttery frame rates or laggy load times,” though it notes that “the visuals aren’t always crystal clear, and background objects like trees and rocks don’t appear until you get closer to them.” Nintendo-Town’s French review confirms “aucune chute de framerate constatée, même dans les forêts denses ou lors des effets de pluie” (no framerate drops observed, even in dense forests or during rain effects). NoobFeed’s review is more critical of the original Switch version, reporting “frequent frame drops and pop-in.” If you own a Switch 2, this is the best portable console version. If you own an original Switch, the frame rate and pop-in issues are a noticeable compromise.
Steam Deck
| Component | Requirement |
|---|---|
| Compatibility | Playable (Valve’s middle compatibility tier). Steam Deck HQ’s review confirms the game runs “pretty well on the Steam Deck,” though the developer estimated 30 to 40 fps at default settings. |
| Performance | 30 to 40 fps at default settings (low quality, medium detail, 100% render scale), with temporary drops to 22 fps in certain areas. A 90% render scale with a 30 fps cap delivers the most stable experience. |
| Additional Notes | Battery life is approximately 3 hours on the Steam Deck OLED. The developer shared detailed performance estimates ahead of launch, which Steam Deck HQ praised as “something I really appreciated, since most developers will just stand by the verified badge.” |
Source: Steam Deck HQ’s review, OpenCritic’s review aggregation, and GameBlog’s Steam Deck test. Last verified: 28 September 2026.
What this means in practice: Outbound carries a Playable rating on Steam Deck, and Steam Deck HQ’s dedicated review provides unusually detailed performance data. The developer estimated 30 to 40 fps at default settings, and “their estimates were primarily accurate.” With default settings (low quality, medium detail, 100% render scale), the game “sticks between 30 and 40,” though “there is some throttling where the framerate could drop down to 22 FPS temporarily” in certain areas. Lowering settings to their lowest pushes frame rates to 60 fps in many spots but “fluctuates down to 40 consistently,” and the reviewer did not consider the visual sacrifices worthwhile. The recommended configuration is 90% render scale with a 30 fps cap, which “keeps the game looking great without the frame rate fluctuating downwards.” Battery life is approximately 3 hours on the OLED model. The developer’s transparency about Steam Deck performance was praised by the reviewer as “something I really appreciated, since most developers will just stand by the verified badge they get from Valve and not go into details.” If you own a Steam Deck and enjoy cozy exploration games, this is a functional portable experience with a recommended 30 fps cap.
macOS and Linux: Not Available
Outbound is a Windows-only release on PC. There is no macOS or native Linux version available. SteamDB’s supported systems data lists Windows only. Steam Deck users play through Proton, and the Playable rating confirms that this compatibility layer works.
Price, Editions, and Content
Outbound is priced at $24.99 / HK$156.00 on Steam and other platforms, with a 20 percent launch discount bringing it to approximately $19.99. The Digital Deluxe Edition includes the base game plus the School Bus Adventures DLC, which adds a fully customisable school bus as a playable vehicle. A Demo was available ahead of launch on PC, PS5, and Xbox Series X|S. The game supports online co-op for up to 4 players, 17 languages, and a wide range of accessibility options including UI scaling, adjustable narration, camera animation toggles, flash effect controls, and a freely adjustable day/night cycle.
Reception and Review Scores
Outbound holds a “Mostly Positive” rating on Steam with 1,810 user reviews, according to the Steam store page, with recent reviews dipping to “Mixed” from 61 reviews. OpenCritic’s critic aggregation shows the game ranking in the 70th percentile with a 68 top critic average. Game8 scored it 70/100, praising the “fun, vibrant visual aesthetic” and “cozy all the way, no threats” design while criticising the “gameplay cycle can get tedious” and “could use QoL improvements.” Yahoo Tech’s PC review found it “a satisfying blend of crafting and exploration” with a “relaxed atmosphere and go-with-the-flow pace.” ComicBook awarded it 2.5 out of 5, noting “the game itself runs well on PC, and many of the biggest issues here feel fixable in time.” 17173’s Chinese review was far more critical, scoring it 2.0/5 and describing the camper van as “slow as a snail” with a “hollow and boring” world.
Final Verdict: Can Your Setup Run Outbound?
Yes, almost certainly on PC. Outbound is one of the most accessible open-world titles of 2026. The minimum spec asks for a Core i3-10100F, 4 GB of RAM, and a GTX 1050 with 2 GB of VRAM, which is hardware from 2016-2020. The 16 GB install size is modest, and there is no SSD requirement. If you own a gaming PC built in the last six to seven years with any dedicated GPU and 4 GB of RAM, you can run this game at 1080p and 30 fps on low-to-medium settings without difficulty. The recommended tier asks for an i3-12100F, 8 GB of RAM, and an RTX 3060, which is achievable on most mid-range gaming PCs from the last three to four years.
The 4 GB RAM minimum is unusually low for a 2026 open-world game, and the 8 GB recommendation is the most meaningful upgrade path if you want consistent frame rates while driving through dense biomes. Do not upgrade your GPU beyond an RTX 3060 for this game.
On console, the game launched on 11 May 2026 for Xbox Series X|S (with day-one Game Pass availability) and 14 May 2026 for PS5, Switch, and Switch 2. The Switch 2 version runs at a solid frame rate with no stuttery performance, and its 3 GB file size is significantly smaller than the original Switch’s 7.8 GB. The original Switch version has reported frame drops and pop-in issues. The PS5 and Xbox Series X|S versions are playable, though OpenCritic notes that the PC version is “technically superior” with “a significant graphical boost.” On Steam Deck, the game is Playable and runs at 30 to 40 fps at default settings, with a recommended 90% render scale and 30 fps cap for the most stable experience. There is no macOS or Linux version.
Specs and performance may be revised by Square Glade Games in future patches, and the developer has already released a major Fishing Update in July 2026 with new content across all platforms. This article reflects the Steam store page, Steam Support system requirements page, Nintendo Official Site product page, Xbox Wire, IGN’s launch trailer, VGtimes, PCGameBenchmark, Can I Run It, Steam Deck HQ’s review, Nintendo Life’s Switch 2 review, NoobFeed’s review, Game8’s review, OpenCritic’s review aggregation, 4P.de, Nin Ex-Press, Nintendo-Town, GameBlog, and verified outlet reports as of 28 September 2026. Chen Xi verifies all specifications by checking official store pages and dating each table; no numbers in this article are estimated or inferred.








