Written by Chen Xi, PC & Console Requirements Specialist at Game Launch Hub
Gold Gold Adventure Gold System Requirements: PC Specs, Steam Deck Performance & Console Status
Gold Gold Adventure Gold is an award-winning “reverse RPG” colony simulation from solo developer Can Can Can a Man, and it left Steam Early Access on 15 May 2026 after nine months of active development. You play as a gold-obsessed patron rather than a hero, building a fantasy town around a monster-filled dungeon, recruiting hand-drawn adventurers with promises of coin, and managing a pet god-beast that grows far larger than expected. Performance-wise, this is an accessible Unity Engine title with a modest hardware floor, and it carries a Steam Deck Verified badge following dedicated optimisation work during Early Access.
System Requirements
Minimum (Windows)
| Component | Requirement |
|---|---|
| OS | Windows 10 |
| Processor | Quad Core Processor |
| Memory (RAM) | 8 GB |
| Graphics | NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060 or equivalent |
| VRAM | Not listed separately by the developer; the GTX 1060 ships with 3 GB or 6 GB |
| DirectX | Version 11 |
| Storage | 12 GB available space |
| Additional Notes | GPU with Shader Model 5.0 required. Requires a 64-bit processor and operating system. |
Source: Steam store page for Gold Gold Adventure Gold, Can I Run It, and PCGameBenchmark. Last verified: 29 September 2026.
What this means in practice: The minimum tier targets 1080p at 30 to 60 fps on the game’s default settings, though Can Can Can a Man does not specify a frame rate target on the Steam page. The “Quad Core Processor” requirement is deliberately broad and does not name a specific model, which means the developer is signalling that any modern quad-core chip from the last decade will suffice. The GTX 1060 is a 2016 mid-range card, and the Shader Model 5.0 requirement is the only hard technical constraint listed, which any DirectX 11 GPU from the last twelve years will satisfy. The 8 GB system RAM floor is standard, and the 12 GB install size is moderate for a colony sim with hand-drawn characters and 3D buildings. If you own a gaming PC built in the last eight to ten years with a dedicated GPU and 8 GB of RAM, you will clear this bar comfortably.
Recommended (Windows)
| Component | Requirement |
|---|---|
| OS | Windows 10 |
| Processor | Quad Core Processor |
| Memory (RAM) | 8 GB |
| Graphics | NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2070 or equivalent |
| VRAM | Not listed separately by the developer; the RTX 2070 ships with 8 GB |
| DirectX | Version 11 |
| Storage | 12 GB available space |
| Additional Notes | GPU with Shader Model 5.0 required. Requires a 64-bit processor and operating system. |
Source: Steam store page for Gold Gold Adventure Gold, Can I Run It, and GameWith. Last verified: 29 September 2026.
What this means in practice: The recommended tier is unusual because it changes only the GPU while keeping the same Quad Core Processor, 8 GB of RAM, 12 GB storage, and DirectX 11 requirement as the minimum tier. The jump from a GTX 1060 to an RTX 2070 is substantial for a colony simulation, and it suggests the developer is targeting smoother frame rates during the game’s busier late-game scenarios, when dozens of adventurers, tamed beasts, and monster waves are active on screen simultaneously. The 8 GB RAM requirement is identical at both tiers, which confirms the game’s memory footprint does not scale meaningfully with graphical settings. If you have a gaming PC from the last five to six years with an RTX 2070 or better and 8 GB of RAM, you will meet this tier comfortably.
A Note on VRAM and System RAM
The developer does not publish a separate VRAM figure for either tier, which is a gap in the official information. The GTX 1060 shipped in both 3 GB and 6 GB variants, and the Steam page does not specify which is required. Given the game’s stylised 2D character art over 3D buildings, a 3 GB card is likely sufficient at 1080p, but I cannot state that as confirmed. The RTX 2070’s 8 GB is the practical target for higher resolutions. The 8 GB system RAM requirement is identical at both tiers, which is unusually low for a 2026 management sim and reflects the game’s compact scope. However, player reports on the Steam Community note that performance can degrade in the late game when “too many units (rats)” are spawned, and the developer has acknowledged this by reducing enemy counts in hotfixes. Do not upgrade your GPU beyond an RTX 2070 for this game.
Steam Deck
| Component | Requirement |
|---|---|
| Compatibility | Verified (Valve’s highest rating). Confirmed by CheckMyDeck, We Love It, and the Steam store page. |
| Performance | Runs natively on SteamOS. The 14 January 2026 hotfix enabled “better texture compression, allowing the game to be playable on Steamdeck,” and the 21 April 2026 update added “almost full controller support.” The developer confirmed in the 1.0 announcement that they “focused on Steam Deck compatibility so you can City Build on the go.” |
| Additional Notes | The game does not default to external Bluetooth or USB controllers on Deck and may require manually switching the active controller via the Quick Access Menu. Some functionality is not accessible with the default controller configuration, requiring the touchscreen or a community layout. Some in-game text is small and may be difficult to read. |
Source: CheckMyDeck’s Steam Deck compatibility page, SteamDB’s hotfix and patch notes, We Love It, and the Steam store page. Last verified: 29 September 2026.
What this means in practice: Gold Gold Adventure Gold carries a Steam Deck Verified badge, Valve’s highest compatibility rating. The path to that badge was deliberate: the developer added better texture compression in January 2026 to make the game playable on the handheld, then added almost full controller support in April 2026, and explicitly prioritised Steam Deck compatibility as part of the 1.0 launch. The game runs natively on SteamOS. However, the Verified badge comes with specific caveats worth understanding: the game does not default to external controllers and may require manual switching via the Quick Access Menu, some functionality requires the touchscreen or a community layout, and some in-game text is small. The Last Word on Gaming review played the game on Steam Deck and described it as “a decent management simulator if you’re just looking for a casual experience,” scoring it 5/10. Player reports on GameBrain note “occasional framerate dips, especially on devices like the Steam Deck” in the late game. If you own a Steam Deck and enjoy colony sims, this is a functional portable experience with manageable caveats.
macOS and Linux: Not Available
Gold Gold Adventure Gold is a Windows-only release on PC. The Steam store page lists Windows 10 only, and SteamDB’s supported systems data confirms Windows as the sole platform. There is no macOS or native Linux version. Steam Deck users play through SteamOS, and the Verified badge confirms that this compatibility layer works.
PlayStation 5, Xbox Series X|S, and Nintendo Switch 2: Not Available
Gold Gold Adventure Gold has no console versions. The Avocado’s release calendar lists the game as “Gold Gold Adventure Gold (PC) – Releases May 15th”, while other titles launching the same week list PS5, Xbox, and Switch versions. IGN’s release coverage confirms the launch platforms as “PC (Steam and itch.io)” only. MobyGames lists only Windows as a supported platform, and there is no PlayStation Store, Xbox Store, or Nintendo eShop listing for the game. If you play primarily on a console, you cannot access Gold Gold Adventure Gold.
Price, Content, and Modes
Gold Gold Adventure Gold is priced at $24.99** on Steam, with a **20 percent bundle discount** available when purchased alongside *Adventurer Guild in Adventurer Town* for **$31.98. The 1.0 release added a major boss fight, a new pet god-beast, a secret special mission, new units, attacks, enemies, and buildings, plus “cutscenes, missions and more structure” according to the Gematsu launch report. The game includes two distinct modes: Survive the Night, a high-stakes survival mode where every night brings tougher enemies, and Feed the Greed, a relaxed long-form colony sim mode focused on exploration and city growth.
Reception and Review Scores
Gold Gold Adventure Gold holds a “Mixed” overall rating on Steam with 69 percent positive reviews from 751 reviews, according to the Steam store page. Earlier in Early Access, the game had a “Very Positive” rating, and We Love It records a “Mostly Positive” rating based on 770 reviews. OpenCritic’s critic aggregation describes it as “an ambitious project with a lot of charm, a beautiful art style, delightful music, and an addictive gameplay loop,” noting that it “is not perfect and still needs work to reach its full potential.” IndieGame.com scored the 1.0 release 7.5/10, stating: “Buy it if the concept grabs you and you can tolerate a 1.0 that still has things to prove.” Game8’s Early Access review praised the game as “strikingly short but offers lots of replayability,” while noting that “it needs more content to truly reach its full potential.” The most consistent criticisms are the short playtime (average 7.6 hours per Datahumble’s Steam analytics), interface usability issues, and late-game performance degradation when too many units are active.
Final Verdict: Can Your PC Run Gold Gold Adventure Gold?
Yes, almost certainly. Gold Gold Adventure Gold is one of the more accessible colony sims of 2026. The minimum spec asks for a Quad Core Processor, 8 GB of RAM, and a GTX 1060, which is hardware from 2016, and the 12 GB install size is moderate. The Shader Model 5.0 requirement is satisfied by any DirectX 11 GPU from the last twelve years. If you own a gaming PC built in the last eight to ten years with a dedicated GPU and 8 GB of RAM, you can run this game at 1080p without difficulty. The recommended tier asks for an RTX 2070, which is achievable on most mid-range gaming PCs from the last five to six years, and the only difference between tiers is the GPU, which tells you the game is not CPU or RAM-bound.
The 8 GB RAM requirement is identical at both tiers, which confirms the game’s memory footprint is fixed. Do not upgrade your CPU or RAM for this game. If you already meet the minimum, the only meaningful upgrade path is the GPU.
On Steam Deck, the game is Verified and runs natively on SteamOS. The developer specifically optimised for the handheld during Early Access, adding texture compression in January 2026 and controller support in April 2026. The caveats are that you may need a community controller layout, some text is small, and late-game scenarios with many units can cause frame rate dips. There are no console versions, and Can Can Can a Man has not announced plans for PlayStation, Xbox, or Nintendo releases. There is no macOS or Linux version. The game holds a “Mixed” Steam rating at 69 percent positive from 751 reviews, and the most common criticism is that the 1.0 release still feels like it needs more content, even though the core loop is addictive and the art style is widely praised.
Specs and performance may be revised by Can Can Can a Man in future patches, and the developer has already released multiple hotfixes and content updates since the July 2025 Early Access launch. This article reflects the Steam store page, SteamDB’s app data and patch notes, CheckMyDeck’s Steam Deck compatibility page, Can I Run It, PCGameBenchmark, GameWith, We Love It, OpenCritic’s critic aggregation, IndieGame.com, Game8, Datahumble’s Steam analytics, GameBrain, The Avocado, IGN, MobyGames, and verified outlet reports as of 29 September 2026. Chen Xi verifies all specifications by checking official store pages and dating each table; no numbers in this article are estimated or inferred.








