Written by Chen Xi, PC & Console Requirements Specialist at Game Launch Hub
Bubsy 4D System Requirements: PC Specs, PS5, Xbox Series X|S, Switch 2 & Steam Deck Performance Guide
Bubsy 4D is a 3D platformer from developer Fabraz and publisher Atari, and it marks the first genuine attempt in decades to rehabilitate gaming’s most persistently maligned mascot. It launched on 22 May 2026 across an unusually wide platform spread: PC via Steam, the Epic Games Store, and GOG, as well as PS5, PS4, Xbox Series X|S, Xbox One, Nintendo Switch, and Nintendo Switch 2, priced at $19.99 / €19.99 / £16.75. Performance-wise, this is one of the least demanding games of 2026 on PC. The official minimum asks for a 3.0 GHz processor, 2 GB of RAM, and a GeForce GT 740, and the entire game fits into just 3 GB of storage. It carries a Steam Deck Verified badge and runs at a stable 60 fps on Valve’s handheld.
System Requirements
Minimum (Windows)
| Component | Requirement |
|---|---|
| OS | Windows 10 or later |
| Processor | 3.0 GHz |
| Memory (RAM) | 2 GB |
| Graphics | NVIDIA GeForce GT 740 or equivalent |
| VRAM | Not listed separately by the developer |
| DirectX | Version 11 |
| Storage | 3 GB available space |
| Additional Notes | Requires a 64-bit processor and operating system. Full controller support. Keyboard and mouse supported. |
Source: Steam Support page for Bubsy 4D, GOG listing, and VGtimes. Last verified: 2 October 2026.
What this means in practice: The minimum tier targets 1080p at 60 fps on the game’s default settings. The 3.0 GHz processor requirement is deliberately broad, covering chips from roughly 2010 onward, and the GeForce GT 740 is a 2014 entry-level card. This is hardware from the Windows 7 era, and the game is designed to run on laptops and desktops with modest dedicated GPUs. The 2 GB system RAM floor is one of the lowest of any 2026 release, and the 3 GB install size is equally tiny. The developer does not list a separate VRAM figure, but the GT 740 shipped with 1 GB or 2 GB, and either is sufficient for this game’s stylised cel-shaded visuals. If you own a computer built in the last ten to twelve years, you will clear this bar comfortably.
Recommended (Windows)
| Component | Requirement |
|---|---|
| OS | Windows 10 or later |
| Processor | 4 GHz |
| Memory (RAM) | 4 GB |
| Graphics | NVIDIA GeForce RTX 30 series or equivalent |
| VRAM | Not listed separately by the developer |
| DirectX | Version 11 |
| Storage | 3 GB available space |
| Additional Notes | The recommended specification is listed on the GOG page and the Steam Support page but does not appear on the primary Steam store page. |
Source: Steam Support page for Bubsy 4D, GOG listing, and GoodOnPC. Last verified: 2 October 2026.
What this means in practice: The recommended tier targets 1080p or 1440p at 60 fps on high settings. The jump from a GT 740 to an RTX 30 series GPU is substantial for a 3D platformer, and GoodOnPC’s analysis classified the game as “Moderate” demand, noting that “the listed GPU is not entry-level, so graphics horsepower matters more than the table first suggests.” The jump from 2 GB to 4 GB of RAM is modest, and the 3 GB install size remains unchanged. If you have a gaming PC from the last five to six years with a mid-range GPU and 4 GB of RAM, you will meet this tier comfortably. Steam Deck HQ’s review confirmed the game runs at around 60 fps with battery drain of just 10W to 14W on the Deck’s default settings.
A Note on VRAM and System RAM
Fabraz does not publish a separate VRAM figure for either tier, which is a gap in the official information. The GT 740 shipped with 1 GB or 2 GB of VRAM, and the RTX 30 series cards start at 8 GB. Bubsy 4D is a 3D platformer with cel-shaded visuals, craft-themed environments, and particle effects for Bubsy’s hairball form, but it is not texture-heavy or geometry-intensive. You will not encounter VRAM bottlenecks at 1080p on any dedicated GPU from the last decade. The 2 GB system RAM minimum is the more relevant constraint, though it is unusually low even by indie standards. Do not upgrade your GPU beyond an RTX 3060 for this game. The CPU is the component that matters most for maintaining a stable frame rate during Bubsy’s momentum-based traversal.
PlayStation 5 and PS4
| Component | Requirement |
|---|---|
| Firmware | Latest PS5 or PS4 system software |
| Storage | Not specified on the PlayStation Store listing; PC version requires 3 GB |
| Performance | Runs at 60 fps. Yahoo Tech’s PS5 review described it as “a short but sweet platforming experience that feels like a speedrunner’s dream.” |
| Additional Notes | Single player. Offline play enabled. DualSense vibration supported. Physical editions available for PS5 and PS4. |
Source: Yahoo Tech’s PS5 review, Gematsu’s release coverage, and MonsterVine’s demo announcement. Last verified: 2 October 2026.
What this means in practice: The PS5 and PS4 versions run at 60 fps, and Yahoo Tech’s review praised the game as “unequivocally a damn good platformer, no caveats,” noting that “Bubsy 4D sure puts the maligned mascot on the right track.” The reviewer highlighted the Hairball Mode as the key addition, describing it as “letting the cat turn into a giant sphere that barrels along the ground at high speed.” The DualSense controller’s vibration feature is supported. Physical editions are available for PS5 and PS4. If you own a PlayStation console, this version performs without any technical concerns.
Xbox Series X|S and Xbox One
| Component | Requirement |
|---|---|
| Firmware | Latest Xbox system software |
| Storage | Not specified on the Xbox Store listing; PC version requires 3 GB |
| Performance | 4K Ultra HD, 60 fps+, Optimised for Xbox Series XS |
| Additional Notes | Single player. Xbox achievements and cloud saves. Physical editions available for Xbox One and Xbox Series X. |
Source: the Xbox Store listing, Xbox Wire, and Gematsu’s release coverage. Last verified: 2 October 2026.
What this means in practice: The Xbox Store listing confirms 4K Ultra HD, 60 fps+, and Optimisation for Xbox Series X|S. The game supports Xbox achievements and cloud saves. The Xbox Series S version is also available and runs at 60 fps. If you own an Xbox Series X or Series S, the game runs without any performance concerns. Physical editions are available for Xbox One and Xbox Series X.
Nintendo Switch and Switch 2
| Component | Requirement |
|---|---|
| Firmware | Latest Nintendo Switch system software |
| Storage | Not specified on the eShop listing; PC version requires 3 GB |
| Performance (Switch 2) | Largely stable in both docked and handheld modes with no major issues interrupting play, per Nintendo Life’s review. A pre-launch patch “addressed a number of bugs and made the visuals look a touch crisper.” |
| Performance (Switch) | Original Switch version. Specific targets not published. |
| Additional Notes | TV, Tabletop, and Handheld modes supported. Physical edition for Switch and Switch 2 comes complete on the cartridge. Save Data Cloud requires Nintendo Switch Online membership. |
Source: Nintendo Life’s Switch 2 review, HobbyConsolas’ release coverage, and Gematsu’s release coverage. Last verified: 2 October 2026.
What this means in practice: The Switch 2 version runs at what Nintendo Life described as “largely stable in both docked and handheld modes with no major issues interrupting play.” The reviewer noted that a pre-launch patch “addressed a number of bugs and made the visuals look a touch crisper,” which was “a welcome improvement.” The physical edition for Switch and Switch 2 comes complete on the cartridge, which is a genuine convenience for collectors. If you own a Switch 2, this is a comfortable portable experience. The original Switch version is also available, though specific performance targets have not been published.
Steam Deck
| Component | Requirement |
|---|---|
| Compatibility | Verified (Valve’s highest rating). Confirmed by Steam Deck HQ, Steambase, and GoodOnPC. |
| Performance | 60 fps at default settings with battery drain of 10W to 14W. Occasional drops to 40 fps in some spots, though “this doesn’t usually last long.” Grass and terrain pop-in is noticeable but “the cost is too great” to fix. |
| Additional Notes | The game does not default to external Bluetooth or USB controllers on Deck and may require manually switching the active controller via the Quick Access Menu. The 3 GB install size makes it easy to keep installed. |
Source: Steam Deck HQ’s review, Steambase, and GoodOnPC. Last verified: 2 October 2026.
What this means in practice: Bubsy 4D carries a Steam Deck Verified badge, Valve’s highest compatibility rating, awarded ahead of release. Steam Deck HQ’s dedicated review found that “with the default settings, we get around 60 FPS with lower battery drain, around 10W to 14W.” The reviewer noted that “the most noticeable issues with the quality come from grass and terrain details popping in,” but that fixing this requires bringing “the entire quality of the grass and terrain up,” which is “not worth the sacrifices with battery life and more constant drops.” There are “some spots where the framerate will throttle and drop to 40 FPS,” though “this doesn’t usually last long.” The 3 GB install size means it takes up almost no storage space. If you own a Steam Deck and enjoy platformers, this is an easy recommendation.
macOS and Linux
Steambase’s platform data lists Windows, Mac, Linux, and Steam Deck (Verified) as supported systems for Bubsy 4D. However, the official Steam Support page lists Windows 10 or later only, and Fabraz has not published separate macOS or Linux specifications. I am treating macOS and Linux as listed by third-party trackers but not confirmed by the developer. Steam Deck users play through SteamOS, and the Verified badge confirms that this compatibility layer works seamlessly.
Price, Content, and Reception
Bubsy 4D is priced at $19.99 / €19.99 / £16.75 on all platforms, with a Pawsome Edition available that includes additional digital content. The game features 15 levels across three craft-themed worlds, Hairball Mode for high-speed rolling, costumes and blueprint upgrades purchasable with yarn, time trials with ghost data for speedrunning, and a funky jazz and electro-swing soundtrack by Fat Bard. The main story takes roughly 3.5 hours to complete with a 70 percent completion rate, according to Steam Deck HQ’s review.
Bubsy 4D holds a “Very Positive” rating on Steam with a Steambase Player Score of 93 out of 100 from 829 total reviews (770 positive, 59 negative), according to Steambase’s review data. Nintendo Life called it “comfortably the best Bubsy game ever made, with genuinely great controls and speedrunning depth.” Yahoo Tech described it as “a short but sweet platforming experience that feels like a speedrunner’s dream.” Shacknews was far more critical, stating “Bubsy 4D is, straight up, a bad time.” The most consistent praise is for the tight controls, momentum-based movement, and self-deprecating humour, while the most common criticism is the short length and sparse level design. A free Black Hole Update was released on 12 August 2026 across all platforms.
Final Verdict: Can Your PC Run Bubsy 4D?
Yes, almost certainly. Bubsy 4D is one of the least demanding games of 2026. The minimum spec asks for a 3.0 GHz processor, 2 GB of RAM, and a GeForce GT 740, which is hardware from roughly 2010-2014. The 3 GB install size is tiny, and there is no SSD requirement. If you own a gaming PC built in the last ten to twelve years with any dedicated GPU and 2 GB of RAM, you can run this game at 1080p and 60 fps without difficulty.
The recommended tier asks for a 4 GHz processor, 4 GB of RAM, and an RTX 30 series GPU, which is achievable on most mid-range gaming PCs from the last five to six years. The 4 GB RAM recommendation is the most meaningful upgrade path if you want consistent frame rates during Bubsy’s faster Hairball Mode sequences. Do not upgrade your hardware beyond the recommended tier for this game.
On console, the game runs at 60 fps on PS5, PS4, Xbox Series X|S, Xbox One, and Nintendo Switch 2, with 4K Ultra HD support on Xbox Series X. The Switch 2 version is “largely stable in both docked and handheld modes”, and the physical edition comes complete on the cartridge. On Steam Deck, the game is Verified and runs at 60 fps with 10W to 14W battery drain, with occasional dips to 40 fps that “don’t usually last long.” There is native macOS and Linux support listed by third-party trackers, though not confirmed on the official Steam page. The game holds a “Very Positive” rating on Steam with a 93 out of 100 Player Score, and it is best suited for players who enjoy momentum-based platformers, speedrunning, and self-aware comedy.
Specs and performance may be revised by Fabraz in future patches, and the developer has already released a free Black Hole Update on 12 August 2026 across all platforms. This article reflects the Steam store page, Steam Support page, GOG listing, Xbox Store listing, Steam Deck HQ’s review, Nintendo Life’s Switch 2 review, Yahoo Tech’s PS5 review, Steambase’s review data, GoodOnPC, VGtimes, Gematsu’s release coverage, MonsterVine’s demo announcement, HobbyConsolas’ release coverage, and verified outlet reports as of 2 October 2026. Chen Xi verifies all specifications by checking official store pages and dating each table; no numbers in this article are estimated or inferred.








