Written by Chen Xi, PC & Console Requirements Specialist at Game Launch Hub
Dead or Alive 6 Last Round System Requirements: PC Specs, PS5, Xbox Series X|S & Steam Deck Performance Guide
Dead or Alive 6 Last Round is a definitive re-release of Team Ninja’s 2019 3D fighter, arriving on PS5, Xbox Series X|S, and PC via Steam on 25 June 2026 at $39.99 / €39.99. It bundles all 29 characters (including five previously paid DLC fighters), adds a new Photo Mode, and introduces the OBORO lighting system that functions like a lightweight ray tracing implementation. Performance-wise, this is a moderately demanding title on PC with an unusual storage mandate: an SSD is required at both minimum and recommended tiers, and the install footprint is 80 GB. The game has also drawn significant criticism for its re-release model, with 78 percent negative Steam reviews at launch.
System Requirements
Minimum (Windows)
| Component | Requirement |
|---|---|
| OS | Windows 11 |
| Processor | Intel Core i5-8400 or AMD Ryzen 3 3100 |
| Memory (RAM) | 8 GB |
| Graphics | NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060 (6 GB VRAM) or AMD Radeon RX 590 (8 GB VRAM) |
| VRAM | 6 GB on the GTX 1060; 8 GB on the RX 590 |
| DirectX | Version 12 |
| Storage | 80 GB available space on SSD (SSD required) |
| Network | Broadband internet connection |
| Sound Card | 48000Hz 16bit Stereo |
| Additional Notes | Requires a 64-bit processor and operating system. Keyboard and mouse supported. Full controller support. |
Source: Steam store page for DEAD OR ALIVE 6 Last Round, VGtimes, Nuuvem, and Prima Games. Last verified: 24 September 2026.
What this means in practice: The minimum tier targets 720p at 60 fps, according to Chinese outlet 360game‘s specification breakdown. The Core i5-8400 is a 2017 processor and the GTX 1060 is a 2016 mid-range card. The 6 GB VRAM floor is the detail that matters most: the 3 GB variant of the GTX 1060 will not meet this specification. The 8 GB system RAM requirement is standard for modern fighting games. The 80 GB SSD requirement has no HDD fallback, which is unusually large for a fighting game and reflects the game’s high-resolution character models, costume assets, and stage environments. If you have a gaming PC from the last six to seven years with a 6 GB GPU and 8 GB of RAM, you will clear this bar, but you are at the bottom of the visual ladder.
Recommended (Windows)
| Component | Requirement |
|---|---|
| OS | Windows 11 |
| Processor | Intel Core i7-8700 or AMD Ryzen 5 3600XT |
| Memory (RAM) | 16 GB |
| Graphics | NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1070 (8 GB VRAM) or AMD Radeon RX 5700 XT (8 GB VRAM) |
| VRAM | 8 GB |
| DirectX | Version 12 |
| Storage | 80 GB available space on SSD (SSD required) |
| Network | Broadband internet connection |
| Sound Card | 48000Hz 16bit Stereo |
| Additional Notes | Requires a 64-bit processor and operating system. |
Source: Steam store page for DEAD OR ALIVE 6 Last Round, VGtimes, and Nuuvem. Last verified: 24 September 2026.
What this means in practice: The recommended tier targets 1080p at 60 fps, per 360game‘s breakdown. The i7-8700 is a 2017 processor and the GTX 1070 is a 2016 upper-mid-range card. The jump from 8 GB to 16 GB of RAM is the most meaningful change between tiers, and it reflects the game’s memory footprint growing as more costume assets, stage interactions, and the OBORO lighting system are loaded simultaneously. The 8 GB VRAM on both recommended GPUs is the practical target for 1080p rendering with the new lighting effects. If you have a gaming PC from the last four to five years with an 8 GB GPU and 16 GB of RAM, you will meet this tier comfortably.
A Note on VRAM and System RAM
The 6 GB VRAM minimum and 8 GB VRAM recommendation are the hard GPU thresholds. This is a 3D fighting game with detailed character models, complex stage geometry, and the new OBORO lighting system. The 16 GB RAM recommendation is the more meaningful upgrade path if you want consistent frame rates during the game’s more visually intensive stage transitions and OBORO-enhanced arenas. The 80 GB install size is one of the largest of any fighting game, and the SSD requirement has no HDD fallback. If you are running a mechanical hard drive, you cannot play this game regardless of your other hardware.
PlayStation 5
| Component | Requirement |
|---|---|
| Firmware | Latest PS5 system software |
| Storage | Not specified on the PlayStation Store listing; PC version requires 80 GB |
| Performance | 4K output supported, up to 120 fps gameplay. Game8’s PS5 review confirmed “a very noticeable performance upgrade and runs smoothly, with no hitches during long hours of gameplay.” |
| Additional Notes | PS Plus required for online play. Supports up to 16 online players with PS Plus. Online play optional. 1-2 players locally. Remote Play supported. In-game purchases optional. |
Source: Game8’s PS5 review, CDKeyPrices.com, Gamecritix, and the PlayStation Store listing. Last verified: 24 September 2026.
What this means in practice: The PS5 version runs at 4K resolution and supports up to 120 fps gameplay, according to CDKeyPrices and Gamecritix. Game8’s PS5 review confirmed that “the console versions come with a very noticeable performance upgrade and runs smoothly, with no hitches during long hours of gameplay.” The OBORO lighting system is supported on PS5, though CDKeyPrices noted it “makes stages pop noticeably in 4K” but also flagged that “not all stages currently support the new lighting.” The game supports up to 16 online players with PS Plus and 1-2 local players. There is no crossplay and no rollback netcode, which Game8 identified as one of the game’s major disappointments. If you own a PS5, the game performs impeccably, but the online experience is compromised.
PlayStation 5 Pro
| Component | Requirement |
|---|---|
| Firmware | Latest PS5 Pro system software |
| Storage | Not specified on the PlayStation Store listing; PC version requires 80 GB |
| Performance | PS5 Pro Enhanced. 4K output supported, up to 120 fps gameplay. |
| Additional Notes | Same features as base PS5. |
Source: CDKeyPrices.com and Gamecritix. Last verified: 24 September 2026.
What this means in practice: The PS5 Pro version is marked as PS5 Pro Enhanced, though Team Ninja has not published specific additional enhancements beyond the base PS5’s 4K and 120 fps support. Given the game’s age and the modest demands of its 2019-era rendering pipeline, the PS5 Pro benefits are likely to be marginal. If you own a PS5 Pro, you are getting the same 4K/120fps experience as a base PS5 owner, potentially with slightly more stable frame pacing.
Xbox Series X|S
| Component | Requirement |
|---|---|
| Firmware | Latest Xbox system software |
| Storage | Not specified on the Xbox Store listing; PC version requires 80 GB |
| Performance (Series X) | 4K Ultra HD, HDR10, 60 fps+, Optimised for Xbox Series XS. FutureFive’s review confirmed “the frame rate is stable on Xbox Series X, no matter how heavy the action is.” |
| Performance (Series S) | 60 fps+, Optimised for Xbox Series XS. Specific resolution targets not published. |
| Additional Notes | Xbox local multiplayer (2-2). Online multiplayer (2-16). Single player. Xbox achievements. Xbox cloud saves. |
Source: Xbox Store listing, FutureFive’s Xbox Series X review, and GameSurf. Last verified: 24 September 2026.
What this means in practice: The Xbox Store listing confirms 4K Ultra HD, HDR10, 60 fps+, and Optimisation for Xbox Series X|S. FutureFive’s review stated that “the frame rate is stable on Xbox Series X, no matter how heavy the action is,” and noted that “you can finally play the game in glorious 4K” compared to the base PS4 version’s 1080p cap. The review also praised the faster loading times compared to the PS4 original. GameSurf described the Xbox Series X version as “optimized for current-generation consoles” with “frantic, responsive” fights, though the reviewer found the overall presentation “a bit lazy, especially on Xbox Series X.” The game supports 2-2 local multiplayer and 2-16 online multiplayer, with no crossplay. If you own an Xbox Series X, this version runs without any performance concerns.
Nintendo Switch 2: Not Available
Dead or Alive 6 Last Round has no Nintendo Switch or Switch 2 version. Green Man Gaming’s coverage states plainly that “it is a little disappointing that there is currently no Nintendo Switch 2 version planned,” and A Gaming Network confirms the platforms as “PlayStation 5, Xbox Series X|S, and PC on June 25, 2026” with “the question of a Nintendo Switch 2 version is currently the biggest mystery.” Koei Tecmo has not announced any Nintendo version. If you play primarily on Nintendo hardware, you cannot access this game.
Steam Deck
| Component | Requirement |
|---|---|
| Compatibility | Unsupported (Valve’s official rating). SteamDeckHQ notes: “KOEI Tecmo even removed the Verified status and marked the game as ‘Unsupported.’” |
| Performance | Rock-solid 60 fps on the highest settings, but cinematics do not work out of the box (black screen on intro and story cutscenes). A fix is available by installing Proton GE in Desktop Mode and changing the game’s compatibility settings. The OBORO ray tracing mode tanks performance to the low 20s even with FSR on Performance. |
| Additional Notes | With Proton GE, SteamDeckHQ states the game “runs beautifully on Steam Deck” and is “an easy recommendation for handheld fighting game fans.” You can lower settings and enable FSR Performance to run at a 10W TDP limit for significantly improved battery life. |
Source: Steam Deck HQ’s review, 2UpSkill’s Steam Deck settings guide, TheGamer, and GameRant. Last verified: 24 September 2026.
What this means in practice: Dead or Alive 6 Last Round is officially Unsupported on Steam Deck according to Valve, and this is the exact same status as the original DOA6, which Koei Tecmo never fixed. SteamDeckHQ’s review explains the situation clearly: “Out of the box, cinematics simply don’t work on Steam Deck. Whether it’s the intro or story cutscenes, all you get is a black screen.” The good news is that a community fix exists: installing Proton GE in Desktop Mode and changing the game’s compatibility settings resolves the issue completely. Once fixed, SteamDeckHQ reports the game runs at a stable 60 fps even on the highest settings, with only occasional drops during large explosions or flashy effects that “never affect combos or controls.” The OBORO ray tracing mode is not viable on Steam Deck, tanking performance to the low 20s even with FSR on Performance. You can also lower settings and enable FSR Performance to run the game at a 10W TDP limit for significantly better battery life during practice sessions. The 80 GB install size will consume a large portion of the Deck’s internal storage. If you own a Steam Deck and are willing to install Proton GE, this is one of the best portable fighters available.
macOS and Linux: Not Available
Dead or Alive 6 Last Round is a Windows-only release on PC. There is no macOS or native Linux version available. Steam Deck users play through Proton, and the compatibility caveats noted above apply.
Price, Editions, and Free-to-Play Version
Dead or Alive 6 Last Round is priced at $39.99 / €39.99 on all platforms. A free-to-play version, DEAD OR ALIVE 6 Last Round Core Fighters, is available simultaneously on PS5, Xbox Series X|S, and Steam. The Core Fighters edition includes a rotating selection of characters and all game modes, with additional fighters available for purchase. The full game includes 29 characters, all five previously paid DLC fighters (Nyotengu, Phase 4, Momiji, Rachel, and Tamaki), a new Photo Mode, and the OBORO lighting system. Note that Mai Shiranui and Kula Diamond, the King of Fighters crossover characters, are not included and must be purchased separately. There are over 480 DLC items available on Steam, and Eurogamer Germany reported that the total DLC cost approaches €1,500.
Reception and Review Scores
Dead or Alive 6 Last Round has received poor reviews across platforms. The game holds a 70 on Metacritic and a 65 on OpenCritic, while Steam user reviews are 78 percent negative, resulting in a “Mostly Negative” rating. TheGamer reported that “after 405 reviews, the re-release has dropped to a ‘Mostly Negative’ review score on Steam as players complain about incomplete features and the gating of content previously owned by players.” Game8 scored it 72/100, noting that “while the depth of its core gameplay and noticeable upgrades to its visuals and performance are certainly present, it doesn’t offer any significant gameplay changes since its last update in 2020.” FutureFive awarded 6.5/10. The main criticisms are the lack of rollback netcode, no crossplay, the absence of tag team mode, and the re-release model that forces existing owners to repurchase the game at full price.
Final Verdict: Can Your Setup Run Dead or Alive 6 Last Round?
Dead or Alive 6 Last Round is a moderately demanding fighting game with an unusually large storage footprint. The minimum spec asks for a Core i5-8400, 8 GB of RAM, and a GTX 1060 with 6 GB of VRAM, which is hardware from 2016-2017. The 80 GB SSD requirement has no HDD fallback, and the 6 GB VRAM floor is the hard GPU threshold. If you have a gaming PC from the last six to seven years with a 6 GB GPU and 8 GB of RAM, you can run the game at 720p and 60 fps. The recommended tier asks for an i7-8700, 16 GB of RAM, and a GTX 1070 with 8 GB of VRAM for 1080p at 60 fps.
The SSD requirement is non-negotiable, and the 80 GB install size makes this one of the largest fighting games on the market. If you are running a mechanical hard drive, you cannot play this game.
On console, the PS5 and Xbox Series X both support 4K and 60 fps+, with the PS5 supporting up to 120 fps. The Xbox Series X has a stable frame rate according to FutureFive’s review. There is no Nintendo Switch 2 version. On Steam Deck, the game is officially Unsupported by Valve, but a community fix via Proton GE resolves the cutscene issue and delivers a stable 60 fps on the highest settings. The OBORO ray tracing mode is not viable on Steam Deck. The game’s lack of rollback netcode and crossplay are significant drawbacks for the online experience, and the re-release model has drawn widespread criticism from existing owners.
Specs and performance may be revised by Team Ninja in future patches. This article reflects the Steam store page, VGtimes, Nuuvem, Prima Games, Game8’s PS5 review, FutureFive’s Xbox Series X review, Steam Deck HQ’s review, 2UpSkill’s Steam Deck settings guide, CDKeyPrices, Gamecritix, TheGamer, OpenCritic, Metacritic, and verified outlet reports as of 24 September 2026. Chen Xi verifies all specifications by checking official store pages and dating each table; no numbers in this article are estimated or inferred.








